Using GridView in XML

Put problem concerning Views, Layouts and other XML-Resources (like AndroidManifest) here.

Using GridView in XML

Postby Joe_Ackney » Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:06 pm

Hi

Firstly, nice forum :)

Secondly, i'm having problem setting up a gridview in xml. Here is my code:

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using xml Syntax Highlighting
  1.  
  2. <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
  3.  
  4. <LinearLayout xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
  5.  
  6.         android:orientation="vertical"
  7.  
  8.    android:layout_width="fill_parent"
  9.  
  10.    android:layout_height="fill_parent"
  11.  
  12.         >
  13.  
  14.                         <GridView      
  15.  
  16.                                 android:layout_width="wrap_content"
  17.  
  18.                                 android:layout_height="wrap_content"
  19.  
  20.                                 android:numColumns="7"
  21.  
  22.                          >
  23.  
  24.                                 <Button
  25.  
  26.                                         android:layout_width="wrap_content"
  27.  
  28.                                         android:layout_height="wrap_content"
  29.  
  30.                                         android:text="mon"
  31.  
  32.                                 />
  33.  
  34.                                 <Button
  35.  
  36.                                         android:layout_width="wrap_content"
  37.  
  38.                                         android:layout_height="wrap_content"
  39.  
  40.                                         android:text="tues"
  41.  
  42.                                 />
  43.  
  44.                                 <Button
  45.  
  46.                                         android:layout_width="wrap_content"
  47.  
  48.                                         android:layout_height="wrap_content"
  49.  
  50.                                         android:text="wed"
  51.  
  52.                                 />
  53.  
  54.                                 <Button
  55.  
  56.                                         android:layout_width="wrap_content"
  57.  
  58.                                         android:layout_height="wrap_content"
  59.  
  60.                                         android:text="thurs"
  61.  
  62.                                 />
  63.  
  64.                                 <Button
  65.  
  66.                                         android:layout_width="wrap_content"
  67.  
  68.                                         android:layout_height="wrap_content"
  69.  
  70.                                         android:text="fri"
  71.  
  72.                                 />
  73.  
  74.                                 <Button
  75.  
  76.                                         android:layout_width="wrap_content"
  77.  
  78.                                         android:layout_height="wrap_content"
  79.  
  80.                                         android:text="sat"
  81.  
  82.                                 />
  83.  
  84.                                 <Button
  85.  
  86.                                         android:layout_width="wrap_content"
  87.  
  88.                                         android:layout_height="wrap_content"
  89.  
  90.                                         android:text="sun"
  91.  
  92.                                 />                     
  93.  
  94.                         </GridView>
  95.  
  96. </LinearLayout>
  97.  
  98.  
Parsed in 0.005 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4


When applying this layout i get this error:

Image

Could anyone be so kind as to what i'm doing wrong?

Thanks
Joe_Ackney
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 8:53 pm

Top

Postby richard.puckett » Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:44 pm

Use a ListAdapter to populate your grid.

See grid_1.xml and com.example.android.apis.view.Grid1.java in the ApiDemos sample for an example.
Image
richard.puckett
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:37 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby Joe_Ackney » Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:28 pm

Okay, i thought there might be a way to do that via XML.

Thanks for the references.
Joe_Ackney
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 8:53 pm

Postby MrSnowflake » Tue Nov 25, 2008 7:13 pm

I do believe you are using an old version of the SDK (even prior to V0.9).
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Postby Joe_Ackney » Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:16 am

HI, yes i was using 0.8 but even in 1.0 the GridView needs to be populated with ListView. Shame really.
Joe_Ackney
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 8:53 pm

Top

Return to View, Layout & Resource Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests