The method show() .... not applicable for arguments ??

Put problem concerning Views, Layouts and other XML-Resources (like AndroidManifest) here.

The method show() .... not applicable for arguments ??

Postby Patrick » Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:45 pm

Hi, I'm new to Android and have virtually no JS experience but have been working a lot with PHP & MySQL over the last year. I'm trying to get into JS & Android and have started working my way through some of the easier turorials on-line. The one I am following at the moment is an expansion of the HelloAndroid example where the intention is to eventually turn it into a simple contact book application. The tutorial is here http://learncodes.googlepages.com/ but I can't see a name to ascribe to it ... anyway just found your site so maybe you can help me.

I am using Eclipse Version: 3.4.1 & android-sdk-windows-1.0_r2.

Part of the code is ....
public void onClick(View arg0) {
// TODO Auto-generated method stub
AlertDialog.show(HelloAndroid2.this, "Save!",
"You Press Save Button, Not Yet Implemented!",
"Close", true);
}
... the idea being that at this stage in the tutorial you've only adjusted the screen to have the input contact details but can't yet save them anywhere so the 'user' gets a warning message if they hit the 'save' button but I am getting this message from Eclipse ...

"Multiple markers at this line - The method show() in the type Dialog is not applicable for the arguments (HelloAndroid2, String, String, String, boolean)"

Can anyone give me a steer as to how to get over this?

The auto correct facility within Eclipse simply removes all of the parameters which I can't see being the answer.

As an aside I'm struggling to make much sense of the Google Android on-line Reference as nothing is illustrated with examples (that I can see anyway) - is there anywhere on the web where the reference manual is illustrated?

Thanks.
Patrick.
Patrick
Freshman
Freshman

Postby MrSnowflake » Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:59 pm