Making an app without a view

Put problem concerning Views, Layouts and other XML-Resources (like AndroidManifest) here.

Making an app without a view

Postby Fome » Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:09 pm

I'm totally new to android programming so this question might be because I have misunderstood some really basic stuff, but I'm trying to make an app that doesn't need a view. What I wan't is an app that, when you click it, just sets some variables (like vibration or sound or whatever) and exits.

I've just made an Activity, and in it's onCreate() I set the variables and end with a finish();

The program runs properly, however there is a glimpse of the basic view every app get (the black screen with the app name on top) before the program terminates. Is it possible to bypass this? I.E. some way to tell the system that the activity doesn't need a view.

I am calling super.onCreate(savedInstanceState); in the beginning of my onCreate() can this be the problem?

Thanks for any help!
Fome
Freshman
Freshman

Re: Making an app without a view

Postby jagtap.jj1 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:09 am

Use the service component http://developer.android.com/reference/ ... rvice.html
to perform functions without GUI.

Fome wrote:I'm totally new to android programming so this question might be because I have misunderstood some really basic stuff, but I'm trying to make an app that doesn't need a view. What I wan't is an app that, when you click it, just sets some variables (like vibration or sound or whatever) and exits.

I've just made an Activity, and in it's onCreate() I set the variables and end with a finish();

The program runs properly, however there is a glimpse of the basic view every app get (the black screen with the app name on top) before the program terminates. Is it possible to bypass this? I.E. some way to tell the system that the activity doesn't need a view.

I am calling super.onCreate(savedInstanceState); in the beginning of my onCreate() can this be the problem?