Landscape/portrait layout

Put problem concerning Views, Layouts and other XML-Resources (like AndroidManifest) here.

Landscape/portrait layout

Postby Johan » Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:04 am

Hello,

I'm new to android and I am working on an application of which the layout changes when the orientation of the screen changes.
In landscape mode I want to show data using layout x and in portrait mode using layout y (with different widgets in it).

It seems there are 2 ways to achieve this.
1. I understand that an activity is destroyed and recreated when the orientation changes. Than I can detect the orientation in the onCreate method and set the contentview to the appropriate layoutview and it works.
2. Second possibility is using the onConfigChanges method which is called when the configuration changes. In this case I would create the 2 views in the onCreate method when the activity starts for the first time. And when onConfigChanges is called I can set the contentview to the appropriate view with setContentView().

I'm not really sure which of these 2 is the best way to make it work.

Any suggestions?

Thank you.
Johan
Freshman
Freshman

Postby jjaaxx44 » Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:27 am

i think 2nd option is good....its jst a thot.....if ur activty starts every time config changes der'll be lot of work u have to do in onsaveinstance method......if u go by 2nd option in onConfigChanges der wont be much of work......again it depends on ur logic
jjaaxx44
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby MrSnowflake » Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:28 am

You don't really get the concept of layouts and resource. (Re)Check the docs on this topic!

Android allows you to define multiple layouts for different types of devices: keyboard, no keyboard, no touchscreen, ... And portrait and landscape! Android chooses the best layout automatically, which means, you only have to call setContentView(myLayout) and Android will determinate, if you need the portrait or landscape layout automagically.
MrSnowflake