How do I get a view's height to fill the space in between tw

Put problem concerning Views, Layouts and other XML-Resources (like AndroidManifest) here.

How do I get a view's height to fill the space in between tw

Postby TinyGrasshopper » Sun Oct 25, 2009 5:54 am

Hello,

I have very little experience with Android and Java, but in any case, I'm trying to make a layout that kinda looks like the gmail inbox layout. I have a textview on top with a scrollview with a radio group of radio buttons in it below that and a linearlayout of buttons beneath that, but i want the linearlayout of buttons to stick to the bottom of the screen and the scrollview to be sized so that its bottom meets the top of the row of buttons.

The closest thing that I can come up with is a relativelayout holding the three items. with the textview on top and the scrollview beneath that set with the android:layout_below attribute and the linearlayout at the bottom set with the android:layout_alignParentBottom attribute set to true. The problem is that the scrollview's height when set to either fill_parent or wrap_content stretches out to the bottom of the screen sitting behind the row of buttons.

I figure this has to be done programatically, but I'm not sure how to do that. Is there a resize or setHeight method and where would I call it?

I assume that I have to use setHeight (if there is such a thing) and getHeight on the other views to get their height and resize the scrollview accordingly. I'm also assuming that there is a onSizeChanged for the views that would get resized and I would call it from there? That would mean that I'd have to make a new class extending the textView that would resize the scrollview from there? and if i'm make a new class how do i initially put that in the xml? (Admittedly I'm not sure about the details of most of that so it sounds like a lot to me)
TinyGrasshopper
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby azraeal » Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:25 am