Displaying a formatted date from DB

Put problem concerning Views, Layouts and other XML-Resources (like AndroidManifest) here.

Displaying a formatted date from DB

Postby emooney » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:21 am

I have a Date (Sat Jan 30 12:13:01 EST 2010) that I inserted into a SQLite DB and I want to format it when it's displayed in a view. I'm new to the Android platform and am slightly overwhelmed at the moment and need help.

When I use a SimpleCursorAdaptor object to pull my data out and display it, I don't have the chance to edit the data before it's displayed. I've seen examples where people are extending SimpleCursorAdaptor and they're overRiding getView() and I've also seen other examples where they are implementing SimpleCursorAdaptor.ViewBinder.

I've been unsuccessful with both approaches and I'm not even sure these are the approaches I should take for a seemingly small task. Can someone point me to a small example that can help me over this hump?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Eric
emooney
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby emooney » Mon Feb 01, 2010 5:37 am

I figured it out but I'll let someone chime in to tell me if it's the best way. I was able to extrapolate what I was looking for from this article.

You need to implement SimpleCursorAdapter.ViewBinder. I'm only displaying two fields in my list; a date field and another text field 'reps'.

So, in my ListActivity class, here's my onCreate() method:
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using java Syntax Highlighting
  1.     public void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {
  2.         super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);
  3.         setContentView(R.layout.ex_summary_list);        
  4.         mDbHelper = new WorkoutDbAdapter(this);
  5.         mDbHelper.open();
  6.         fillData();
  7.         registerForContextMenu(getListView());
  8.     }
Parsed in 0.032 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4

Then, here's fillData():
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using java Syntax Highlighting