Send a data packet from host PC application to Emulator

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

Send a data packet from host PC application to Emulator

Postby ravinsp » Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:56 pm

Hi, I'm new to Android programming and does not like Android Emulator networking very much!

I have read SDK documentation regarding emulator networking and some worthy tutorials on this site. But I have yet to find a way to send a message (UDP packet) from a host PC application to an android applciation. Is this not possible?

In the documentation it says, emulator is hidden behind a router. Is there anyway I can view activities of these virtual routers. So I can verify whether the virtual router actually received a data packet sent by an application in host PC.

Isn't there anyway I can give the emulator a regular IP address and use it just like a virtual machine connected to my network?

(I need to do this on the official SDK without tampering with emulator images)

My OS is Windows (vista64). Using Android 1.0 r2.

Any help is appreciated and I found this site very helpful for me.
-RavinSP-
ravinsp
Freshman
Freshman

Postby MrSnowflake » Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:54 am

It is possible to setup a tcp/ip connection between pc and the device (when connected through usb). You need a server app and a client, and forward some port of the emulator to some port of the developer machine:
adb forward tcp:<port> tcp:<port>
The bad thing is, you probably have to forward this port after every device shutdown. Though, this can be set using ddms (I guess).
MrSnowflake

Postby ravinsp » Sat Feb 21, 2009 7:05 pm

Thanks for the reply.

This is the exact problem I worry about. In real world I would not have to set these port redirection or anything right? I would simply send my data (UDP or TCP) from source IP to destination IP. The fact that the emulator is hidden behind virtual routers limits the flexibility of networking.