No network connection

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

No network connection

Postby griffinshi » Mon May 31, 2010 3:24 am

hi guys,


i meet some problem while trying to login web browser, it pop some error msg :

Code: Select all
No network connection

The page will continue loading after connection has been restored.



more, plz refer the attachment, & thanks. and i did nothing
Attachments
emulator-network-error.png
emulator-network-error.png (16.34 KiB) Viewed 834 times
new to anddev:)
griffinshi
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:53 am
Location: cn

Top

Re: No network connection

Postby vengeance_mj » Mon May 31, 2010 6:35 am

The android emulator has kind of a shaky connection. I've seen my program using the Internet crash many times and I've spent 2-3 hrs debugging a correct code what was wrong!! So when you close and restart the emulator it works fine.
The other thing might be the DNS of your ISP is not working in which case you need to restart your router.
vengeance_mj
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:32 am

Re: No network connection

Postby griffinshi » Mon May 31, 2010 8:03 am

to vengeance_mj

thanks, but i donot agree this, because my IE works OK in window XP system.


also, i found that sometimes emulator works OK, sometime mot.


and if it report this error, Message/Dialog will fail ,too.

other words, if you could login web via emulator, you will fail to receive Message or phone, and call other, too.


for reference
new to anddev:)
griffinshi
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:53 am
Location: cn

Re: No network connection

Postby vengeance_mj » Mon May 31, 2010 9:14 am

I've never used Phone or Message in emulator though the Phone never actually dials any number so it kind of is useless. As far as the network connection goes it is kind of shaky. Even I noticed this issue on the android google groups posts. So i think that was the solution which I've assumed.

Also could you clarify what did you mean by this

Code: Select all
if it report this error, Message/Dialog will fail ,too.

other words, if you could login web via emulator, you will fail to receive Message or phone, and call other, too.
vengeance_mj
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:32 am

Re: No network connection

Postby griffinshi » Mon May 31, 2010 12:01 pm

vengeance_mj wrote:I've never used Phone or Message in emulator though the Phone never actually dials any number so it kind of is useless. As far as the network connection goes it is kind of shaky. Even I noticed this issue on the android google groups posts. So i think that was the solution which I've assumed.

Also could you clarify what did you mean by this

Code: Select all
if it report this error, Message/Dialog will fail ,too.

other words, if you could login web via emulator, you will fail to receive Message or phone, and call other, too.


i found that:

1. emulator you created, works OK sometime, and fails sometime.

2. if emulator report the error, some function will disable, i.g. call to sb, send message to sb, receive call
new to anddev:)
griffinshi
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:53 am
Location: cn

Top

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests