No Internet on the emulator

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

No Internet on the emulator

Postby BlueEyes » Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:04 pm

Hallo guys, I dont seem to be able to get internet working on the emulator. I tried everything, I created an emulator device with gsm model enabled. Since i am behind a proxy, i put the "-http-proxy http://ip:port" option into the appropriate additional emulator command line options box inside the run as configuration. i am out of ideas and out of luck it seems :-(

(of course my machine has internet)
BlueEyes
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:19 pm

Top

Re: No Internet on the emulator

Postby BlueEyes » Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:59 am

tried at home too with direct internet and no luck, seems like there is a general problem with the connectivity of the emulator. :-(
BlueEyes
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: No Internet on the emulator

Postby jayesh.thadani » Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:50 pm

Have you added uses-permission in androidmanifest.xml file?
<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.INTERNET"></uses-permission>
jayesh.thadani
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Location: India

Re: No Internet on the emulator

Postby madhavanmaddy » Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:12 am

just type this in your command prompt

emulator -avd MYAVD -http-proxy http://proxyname:8000

where MYAVD is your AVD name which you want to start

this is a proxy setting for internet problem resolving

note: do not close command prompt

also add

<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.INTERNET"></uses-permission>

in your androidmanifest.xml
madhavanmaddy
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:04 am

Top

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests