Intenet Connection

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

Intenet Connection

Postby vinhnt_wae » Wed May 20, 2009 5:47 am

Hi guys.

I am now facing with a problem of internet connection inside android emulator. Built-in browser can not connect to internet although it can resolve the address of an url (for example: www.google.com is resolved as
64.233.189.99,..)
I tried to start emulator with the [-http-proxy 192.168.1.xxx:xxx] where the address is my exactly proxy address but failed.
I also tried to using sqlite3 to insert proxy server address to the settings data tables:
"INSERT INTO system VALUES (99,'http_proxy','192.168.1.xxx:xxx');"
Databases: /data/data/com.google.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
And confirm that the 99|http_proxy|192.168.1.xxx:xxx was inserted.
But emulator still fails to connect to internet.
Further more, I found an error using logcat:
05-20 04:31:15.138: ERROR/ActivityThread(804): Failed to find provider info for com.google.settings
Then, I check from data/data, there is no com.google.settings existed. => Why?

Any Ideas is appreciated
VinhNT.
vinhnt_wae
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:21 am

Top

Postby vinhnt_wae » Thu May 21, 2009 2:50 am

Hi,

The above problem only occurred if I using Android SDK 1.5, in the case of using version 1.1, I can use -http-proxy parameter and then normally connect to internet.

Lovely
vinhnt_wae
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:21 am

Postby zemi » Sun May 24, 2009 12:08 pm

your application may not have the privilegs!
open the AndroidManifest.xml and insert the following line:
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using xml Syntax Highlighting
  1. <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.INTERNET"></uses-permission>
Parsed in 0.000 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4
zemi
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 5:12 pm

Postby vinhnt_wae » Mon May 25, 2009 2:08 am

To zemi:
Thank you for your reply.
In my case, I did not create any new applycation, I have just used the built-in Browser app in emulator.
All the problem that I faced is the internet connection of emulator.

VinhNT
vinhnt_wae
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:21 am

Postby arams » Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:15 am

Hello ANDROIDIES,


I am also facing the same problem,any sugession.
Regards.
arams
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 7:45 am

Internet connection problem in v 1.5

Postby android_haze » Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:48 pm

Hi....
I'm facing the same problem mentioned here, of not being able to connect to the internet though the emulator. We have a proxy in the office but I've tried all settings mentioned in this forum, in the emulator, but all in vain. I'm working on the 1.5 release, and didn't find any specific settings to be made. Please help :cry: Thanks in advance...
android_haze
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 2:38 pm

Top

Postby priyanka » Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:12 am

Any solution yet ? I'm too looking for a resolution to this.
-Priyanka
priyanka
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:54 pm

Top

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests