How I can know the EMULATOR NAME in java code?

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

How I can know the EMULATOR NAME in java code?

Postby Fr4 » Sat Nov 21, 2009 1:27 am

Hi,
this is my first post. I'm a new italian, newbie, android programmer.
I have a problem to test my application.
I would like to make a peer 2 peer application. This net is coordinated by a server to work as naming service.
This server have a ping service. Every client periodically open a socket to server to renew IP (that in real world can sometimes change).
With my emulator, all instances that run concurrently have 127.0.0.1

To contact the right peer, I must know the EMULATOR NAME, where previously I setted port forward by adb.

Somebody know how I can know the EMULATOR NAME of the running instance in java code???

Sorry for my strange request, and for my very bad english.

Thanks in advance,
Fr4
Fr4
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:54 am

Top

Postby StaryLiu » Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:15 am

Hi :
Here is the code for how to get the emulator name from java code . I 've validated it .

as below code, you will get the a device name list .

public ArrayList<String> getDeviceList() {
ArrayList<String> deviceList = new ArrayList<String>();
try {
Runtime r = Runtime.getRuntime();
Process p = r.exec("adb devices");
BufferedReader br = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(p
.getInputStream()));
String inline;
while ((inline = br.readLine()) != null) {
if (inline.startsWith("emulator")) {
StringTokenizer emulatorString = new StringTokenizer(inline);
deviceList.add(emulatorString.nextToken());
}
}
br.close();
} catch (IOException ex) {
ex.printStackTrace();
}
return deviceList;
}
User avatar
StaryLiu
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:54 am
Location: ShenZhen,China

Top

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests