help with installing the apk file from cmd (windows)

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

help with installing the apk file from cmd (windows)

Postby neel » Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:10 am

hi

i want to install the file demo.apk to the emulator from cmd

after starting the emulator from the tools directory i get the following message

Code: Select all
C:\android-sdk_m5-rc14_windows\tools>emulator.exe
Audio out device: Microsoft Sound Mapper
Audio in device: Microsoft Sound Mapper


after this the emulator starts and according to the documentation of google i have to write the following to install the apk file

adb install <path_to_apk> so in my case its adb install C:\workspace\Sample\bin\demo.apk

but as soon as the emulator starts the cmd window becomes inactive and i cannot type anything (the install command) in it.......and if i close the emulator then i can type in cmd window. but now it says tht device not found.

so am i doing something wrong or how do i install this apk file.

1) i initially ran the activitycreator command
2) ran the ant command

this gave me the demo.apk file in the bin directory.

sorry for the lengthty message guys :)
neel
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:09 am
Location: San Jose

Top

Try this

Postby gvkreddyvamsi » Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:48 am

HI,


First copy ur Demo.apk file in androidSDK/tools folder

Now u can easily run 'adb -d 1 install Demo.apk' command
Then it will succeed.


by
vamsi
gvkreddyvamsi
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:10 am
Location: INDIA

Postby neel » Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:07 am

Hi vamsi

i copied the demo.apk in the tools directory and ran the command tht u said but it gives me "error: no device"
neel
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:09 am
Location: San Jose

Postby gvkreddyvamsi » Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:10 am

First run emulator


open new cmd line and install apk,,,.
gvkreddyvamsi
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:10 am
Location: INDIA

Postby inter » Sat Mar 08, 2008 4:20 pm

But i don't see the application on screen .How to show it on Android screen
inter
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:13 am

Postby plusminus » Sat Mar 08, 2008 4:26 pm

Hello intet,

did you push the "All"-Button in the lower right corner of the emulator-screen :?:

Regards,
plusminus
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Top

Postby nehagp2 » Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:58 am

The same thing happens when I try to install using adb - The apk file is copied correctly to the data/app/ but does not get displayed even when I press the All button in the simulator.

Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Neha.
nehagp2
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:09 am

Top

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests