Emulator is not updating

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

Emulator is not updating

Postby Lex » Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:12 pm

Hi everyone,

It seems that my emulator is not updating, for instance when I change a word in a XML file, and I restart my emulator. The new word is not showing up !
I know this question is in the FAQ (http://code.google.com/android/kb/troubleshooting.html ), so I send the .apk to device, but nothing changes either ! Can someone help me ?
Also I don't know how to remove apps. When I remove the project from my Eclipse, it still shows up on the emulator.. :?:
Lex
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:03 pm

Top

Re: Emulator is not updating

Postby atr » Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:22 pm

Hi there,

Lex wrote:Hi everyone,

It seems that my emulator is not updating, for instance when I change a word in a XML file, and I restart my emulator. The new word is not showing up !
I know this question is in the FAQ (http://code.google.com/android/kb/troubleshooting.html ), so I send the .apk to device, but nothing changes either ! Can someone help me ?


Could you write your program code, that might help us understand your problem.



Lex wrote:Also I don't know how to remove apps. When I remove the project from my Eclipse, it still shows up on the emulator.. :?:


That's true that the apps somehow can't be removed from the emulator, but it is actually not a big deal.
atr
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:36 am
Location: Singapore

Postby plusminus » Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:14 pm

Hello Community,

I have split the solution to its own topic, as it this issue requested pretty often... :arrow: HERE

Regards,
plusminus
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Postby martin_nuke » Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:24 am

What I do when the Emulator is not updating I just press control alt delete and I just delete the adb.exe process in the task manager and when I compile and run my Application in the Emulator it is already updated.
martin_nuke
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:44 am

Postby plusminus » Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:47 pm

Yes martin_nuke,

you are right. From time to time the adb.exe seems to reproduce like rabbits :lol:
To be serious it somehow gets started multiple times.
My solution is to kill them all and the next emulator-start there is no more 'problem' with me.

Regards,
plusminus
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Postby chengduman » Mon Dec 24, 2007 6:11 am

if you wanna rm(remove) previous apps from the emulator:

Code: Select all
1. while the emulator is on, start a command editor (cmd.exe);

2. input adb shell;

3. so now you're in a unix sys, input cd data/app;

4. you can see all the apps you've installed. input rm xxx.apk as you like;

5. done. input exit;
chengduman
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 5:42 am
Location: montreal

Top

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests