Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

Postby aswani kumar » Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:43 pm

through emulator setting it is well working for 1.5 emulator
aswani kumar
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:11 am
Location: Hyderabad

Top

Postby kiterie » Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:44 pm

Hi
i have the same problem : I am working with a proxy and don't manage to connect my emulator to the network.
I tried to configure the network settings by the command lines, (using directly emulator.exe from the command prompt) and directly into the emulator but nothing works.
I've been searching a solution for days but nothing seems to work.
If anybody have a solution, I would like him to share it.

I tried this:
- on the console:
emulator -avd myEmulator -http-proxy http://myproxy:myport -verbose -no-boot-anim

- OR on the emulator
Menu -> Settings -> Wireless controls -> Mobile networks - Access Point Names - Click on the access point i see in the list - Set the following values:
Proxy : myproxy address - Port : myport - Username : <Not set> - Password : <Not set>
Home > Menu > Settings >Security & Location > Use Wireless Network

Maybe is there some settings to do on the computer?
Please help ....

Note: when i use the browser, it tells me that the web page can't be loaded : "Web page not available"
kiterie
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:56 am

Not able to connect internet

Postby rkjhaw » Mon May 10, 2010 4:05 pm

Hi still i'm not able to connect internet
rkjhaw
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 4:02 pm

Re: Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Postby Anamika » Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:26 pm

Hi All,
I'm trying to intercept all the http/https requests from android 2.1 sdk emulator (specifically interested in request from our app ) using fiddler. I have fiddler running on the same machine where emulator is running.

I followed the sql query instruction (adb shell ....)
I restarted emulator with below command

emulator -avd <emulator name> -http-proxy http://127.0.0.1:8080

but I still don;t see anything in fiddle even when i go to google from browser in emulator.

If someone is able to view all the http connection from their android emulator ( even if not through fiddler but some other tool) please reply with instructions.

Thanks in advance,
Anu
Anamika
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Postby aap.shweta » Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:48 am

Hello
i have the same problem : I am working with a proxy and don't manage to connect my emulator to the network.
i have tried
adb shell sqlite3 /data/data/com.google.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db ""INSERT INTO system VALUES(99,'http_proxy','10.224.72.231:6050');""

But its showing device not found.

plz help me.... :(
aap.shweta
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:31 am

Re: Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Postby rmj » Fri Nov 19, 2010 11:00 pm

this is what worked for me
in my emulator I went to
Settings -> Wireless controls -> Mobile networks - Access Point Names -

there was one Access Point Name already set so i click on it and got the current values. I went to the Proxy section and entered proxy.yourservername.xxx <== you need to replace this appropriately with what is used in your company

then click ok . went back to my browser and it worked.

I was behind a firewall the browser is using a .pac file. to get this in IE you need to go to the Internet Options under the Connections tab then click on LAN Settings... Firefox is similar just under Network/Settings. Hit the .pac file directly and there should be proxy you can use.
rmj
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:50 pm

Top

Re: Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Postby UmaInfo » Thu Nov 25, 2010 7:55 am

Hi folks,

i would like to get some help from u all.
i tried connecting internet in the android emulator in all the possible ways.

using -hhtp-proxy 115.111.176.5:8080 while starting the emulator
it din work
then i changed the settings in the menu of the emulator
that also din work
and finally when i gave this command in cmd prompt after browsing to the tools folder of android:
adb shell sqlite3 /data/data/com.google.android.pro
viders.settings/database/settings.db"INSERT INTO system VALUES(99,'http_proxy','115.111.176.5:8080');"
the result was:
SQLite version 3.6.22
Enter ".help" for instructions
Enter SQL statements terminated with a ";"
sqlite>
but after this m not able to type anything in the command prompt and also internet not getting connected.
what is the problem here.
Could somebody pls pls help me;
Thank you all:)
UmaInfo
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Postby madhavanmaddy » Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:11 am

wat the heck you are doing just type this in your command prompt

emulator -avd MYAVD -http-proxy http://proxyname:8000

where MYAVD is your AVD name which you want to start

this is a proxy setting for internet problem resolving

note: do not close command prompt
madhavanmaddy
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:04 am

Re: Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Postby nareshkaushik36 » Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:20 am

Hi all

i set the proxy and port address in emulator setting through Setting->Wireless and Network Setting->APN

now i m able to access internet on emulator browser but my application can not access internet through code it is throwing exeption

12-27 13:49:02.280: WARN/System.err(493): java.net.UnknownHostException: Host is unresolved: www.migital.com:80

Can sombody help me
response highly appriciable
nareshkaushik36
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 11:53 am

Re: Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Postby moon_walker333 » Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:17 am

Hello Friends,

Thanks for the pointers. They really helped. The "Firewall" word clicked an idea in my mind.

I have a Windows XP machine with WIFI connection and no proxy. I have Norton Internet Security running on my machine which has a Smart Firewall. This Smart Firewall manages programs' access to network, including emulator.exe. I went into Settings -> Program Control and then granted full access to emulator.exe. After this I started Android Emulator and bang... I could connect to internet.

Hope this helps new folks.

~Saggy
moon_walker333
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:11 am

Re: Emulator + Internet behind Proxy

Postby hentryrobo » Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:00 pm

Step by step procedure to use it..
move to tools directory of your android folder

For eg in my case :cd E:/Downloads/software/android-sdk-windows/tools/

3)Run the Android (Do so by eclipse or using Android.bat)

4)Now when you have reached the menu screen of Android then type adb shell in cmd

5)Your prompt should change like #

Now type: sqlite3 /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db

6)Now your command prompt will look like sqlite>

7)Enter this command where Proxy IP is the IP of your Proxy server and port is its port value.

INSERT INTO system VALUES(99,’http_proxy’,'Proxy IP:port’);

go it from following link..
http://mobilerobo.blogspot.com/2011/03/ ... lator.html
http://mobilerobo.blogspot.com
Android tricks,Hacking tricks,Gadget news
hentryrobo
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:57 am

Top
Previous

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests