Eclipse seems to be unable to Communicate with the Emulator:

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

Eclipse seems to be unable to Communicate with the Emulator:

Postby Ulathar » Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:16 pm

Hi there,
i have a strange problem which i seem to be unable to fix.

After i did a W7 reinstall i also updated to the latest Eclipse (3.6.1) and the latest Android SDK / ADT / Eclipse Plugin.
But now i seem to be unable to launch any App.

This is the output in Eclipse when i try to compile and run my App:

Code: Select all
[2010-10-16 17:10:41 - Android_Stupro2010] ------------------------------
[2010-10-16 17:10:41 - Android_Stupro2010] Android Launch!
[2010-10-16 17:10:41 - Android_Stupro2010] adb is running normally.
[2010-10-16 17:10:41 - Android_Stupro2010] Performing de.studienprojekt2010.android.Splash activity launch
[2010-10-16 17:10:41 - Android_Stupro2010] Automatic Target Mode: launching new emulator with compatible AVD 'asdf'
[2010-10-16 17:10:41 - Android_Stupro2010] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'asdf'


After the emulator finished the boot process, nothing else happens.
My App is NOT copied/installed onto that emulator.

When i try to recompile the App while the emulator is already running, i get this:

Code: Select all
[2010-10-16 17:12:13 - Android_Stupro2010] ------------------------------
[2010-10-16 17:12:13 - Android_Stupro2010] Android Launch!
[2010-10-16 17:12:13 - Android_Stupro2010] adb is running normally.
[2010-10-16 17:12:13 - Android_Stupro2010] Performing de.studienprojekt2010.android.Splash activity launch
[2010-10-16 17:12:13 - Android_Stupro2010] Automatic Target Mode: launching new emulator with compatible AVD 'asdf'
[2010-10-16 17:12:13 - Android_Stupro2010] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'asdf'
[2010-10-16 17:12:13 - Emulator] emulator: ERROR: the user data image is used by another emulator. aborting



I have no clue whats wrong. Already tried restarts, reinstall, etc.
Looks like something is wrong with the Android Debug Bridge...


EDIT:
when i enter "adb devices" after the emulator has finished loading, i get an empty list (like there is no emulator running).
so for some reason the emulator isnt able to connect to the adb server which seems to be the reason why eclipse isnt able to install the apk :(.


EDIT2:

hmm when i kill the adb server while the emulator is running, my eclipse console prints the following:

Code: Select all
[2010-10-16 17:35:39 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 10
[2010-10-16 17:35:40 - DeviceMonitor]Opening adb connection
[2010-10-16 17:35:40 - DeviceMonitor]Connecting to adb for Device List Monitoring...
[2010-10-16 17:35:41 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 11
[2010-10-16 17:35:41 - ddms]Launching 'C:\Program Files\Eclipse\android-sdk\tools\adb.exe start-server' to ensure ADB is running.
[2010-10-16 17:35:45 - adb]* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
[2010-10-16 17:35:45 - adb]* daemon started successfully *
[2010-10-16 17:35:45 - ddms]'adb start-server' succeeded
[2010-10-16 17:35:46 - DeviceMonitor]Opening adb connection
[2010-10-16 17:35:46 - DeviceMonitor]Connecting to adb for Device List Monitoring...
[2010-10-16 17:35:46 - DeviceMonitor]Connected to adb for device monitoring


so eclipse has a connection to the adb but for some reason the emulator itself does not?
like i said above, i have absolutley no clue whats wrong -.-.
Ulathar
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:55 pm

Top

Re: Eclipse seems to be unable to Communicate with the Emula

Postby b2063046 » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:45 pm

Ulathar wrote:Hi there,
i have a strange problem which i seem to be unable to fix.

After i did a W7 reinstall i also updated to the latest Eclipse (3.6.1) and the latest Android SDK / ADT / Eclipse Plugin.
But now i seem to be unable to launch any App.



try with some earlier version of Eclipse, they are writing:
Caution: There are known issues with the ADT plugin running with Eclipse 3.6. Please stay on 3.5 until further notice.

via http://developer.android.com/sdk/requirements.html


However, I'm using Eclipse Helios 3.6.0 and have installed the plugin with the steps from android help - it works .. :)
b2063046
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:24 pm

Re: Eclipse seems to be unable to Communicate with the Emula

Postby Ulathar » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:14 pm

already tried downgrading to 3.5 and 3.4 and it doesnt work, too :(.

at least i was able to find some kind of "workaround".
i have to start the adb server manually via shell (WindowsPowershell).
after that i can click the run button in eclipse and the emulator popps up.

after the emulator finished loading, i must switch from Java to DDMS. in the DDMS there is in one of the contextmenus a button called "reset adb".
when i click that, the adb will be restarted and is suddenly able to miraculously find the already running emulator...

this way sucks, but at least it works. very VERY strange -.-.
Ulathar
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:55 pm

Top

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests