Eclipse looking in the wrong place for tools

Common bugs/problems with the Android SDK the Emulator and the ADT-Plugin.

Eclipse looking in the wrong place for tools

Postby plnelson » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:57 am

I upgraded my SDK to r09 (http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html) and my tools and DDMS to 9 also.

Now when I go to Eclipse Window>Android SDK and AVD Manager it says "Location of the Android SDK has not been set up in the preferences" But that's not true. When I go to preferences we can see the real problem - at the top of preferences it says "Could not find C:\SDK\android-sdk-windows\ tools \adb.exe!" ...No kidding - the r09 update moved it to C:\SDK\android-sdk-windows\ platform-tools.

So even though the SDK and tools have been updated, why is Eclipse looking in the old location and how do I fix that?

Thanks in advance.
plnelson
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:45 am

Top

Re: Eclipse looking in the wrong place for tools

Postby raj_J2ME » Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:17 pm

I think by looking at the environmental variables by going to the My Computer -> Advanced -> Environmental variables, you might get some clues that which tools it is taking.. :)
Try to change the value to the updated one. Let us know the results.
Thanks with Regards,
Raj - The Kernel
raj_J2ME
Master Developer
Master Developer
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 7:40 am
Location: The Capital of India,

Re: Eclipse looking in the wrong place for tools

Postby jupiterjones7 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:15 am

I also had that problem, i solved it by changing SDK Location to C:\android-sdk-windows (or the directory where you have the android-sdk), then i clicked apply and all available sdk targets appeared.
Regards
"Happiness is only real when shared" - Chris McCandless
User avatar
jupiterjones7
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:31 pm

Re: Eclipse looking in the wrong place for tools

Postby jupiterjones7 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:34 pm

Solved!
Click on Help->Check for updates
Then Eclipse will reocgnize changes on android-sdk.
Regards!
"Happiness is only real when shared" - Chris McCandless
User avatar
jupiterjones7
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:31 pm

Re: Eclipse looking in the wrong place for tools

Postby jdrefahl » Wed Mar 02, 2011 6:31 pm

So I wasn't the only one who noticed that Platform-tools just appeared from thin air one day?!? - oh google how I love your lack of any meaningful tutorials. - john
John Drefahl
Massive Media / Soundclash Media
"Changing the world, one app at a time"
http://www.twitter.com/johnsin
User avatar
jdrefahl
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 6:06 pm
Location: San Francisco

Top

Return to SDK/ADT/Emulator Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests