What do I have to consider to implement an update function?

Put your problem here if it does not fit any of the other categories.

What do I have to consider to implement an update function?

Postby sommeralex » Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:28 am

Hi!

My application will soon launch. But: What do I have to consider for updates? If I have a new version, and upload it to market place - are the users informed automatically?

And: Is there an auto-update function available?

thx
sommeralex
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Vienna

Top

Postby Skeniver » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:33 am

Users get notified automatically, then just download the update when they like (or not)...

Are you using a database? And do you work a free & paid version of the app?
Follow me on twitter -> http://twitter.com/Skeniver
Apps & blog -> http://www.formidableapps.co.uk
User avatar
Skeniver
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:51 pm
Location: Canterbury, UK

Postby sommeralex » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:36 am

thx for your answer - no, there wont be a database and the app will be free.

Skeniver wrote:Users get notified automatically, then just download the update when they like (or not)...

Are you using a database? And do you work a free & paid version of the app?
sommeralex
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Vienna

Postby Skeniver » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:42 am

Then you should be ok.

The issues I have found (I have a DB and a free/paid version) were: 1) making database structure changes; 2) migrating data from the free to the paid database (if the user upgrades). If the DB stays the same from v1 to v2, it keeps the data with no hassles.

Other than that I do just try and test updates thoroughly by having an old one on the phone and then installing the update. And 'cause I am paranoid, I will retest it once I have uploaded the update.

You will need to update the versionCode and VersionName in the manifest. Android uses versionCode to check increments (it's just an integer value that needs to be incremented); and the versionName is only used to indicate to users the version number, but it not a absolute necessity (normally this is the 1.1.2 type format)!

But otherwise users will just get periodic notifications on their phone, and then install the new version.
Follow me on twitter -> http://twitter.com/Skeniver
Apps & blog -> http://www.formidableapps.co.uk
User avatar
Skeniver
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:51 pm
Location: Canterbury, UK

Top

Return to Other Coding-Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests