Very simple JAVA question

Put your problem here if it does not fit any of the other categories.

Very simple JAVA question

Postby mvdgaag » Sat Jul 03, 2010 8:10 pm

Hi all,

I'm a noob to JAVA, so excuse me for my stupidity :)
If I have a function that returns a static instance of my class, why do I have to use an allocation every single time?

Code: Select all
public static A doSomething(int j)
{
  ret = new A(); // allocation!
  // do something
  return ret;
}

I solved it now like this, which is ugly:

static A ret = new A();

public static A doSomething(int j)
{
  // do something
  return ret;
}

Is there a better/nicer/easier way?

Thanks!

Maarten
mvdgaag
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Re: Very simple JAVA question

Postby blundell » Sat Jul 03, 2010 10:14 pm

Do you mean you don't want to instantiate an object of type A?

make A a static class, then whatever your doing with it you can just call:
A.learnJava();
blundell
Master Developer
Master Developer

Postby mvdgaag » Sat Jul 03, 2010 10:35 pm

Yes, that's what I mean, but the class itself has static and nonstatic methods and many instances. Some methods return a static instance of the same class though.

I don't want it to allocate a new instance every time my static method is called, which seems to happen when I use new A(). Instead I'd like to just manipulate and return a static object.

Java seems to want me to either use 'new' within the method or instantiate the static outside the method. I think there should be a 'cleaner' way to do this. I just don't know how.
mvdgaag
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby blundell » Sat Jul 03, 2010 10:37 pm

If the class has non-static methods it means the class IS NOT static ... therefore you have to instantiate it.
Either separate the class out to make a whole static class or deal with it :-p
blundell
Master Developer
Master Developer

Postby anarche » Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:56 am