SQLite Queries and editing?

Put your problem here if it does not fit any of the other categories.

SQLite Queries and editing?

Postby Dead_Jester » Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:25 pm

Ok so I am completely new to SQLite databases. I have gone through tutorials and have finally figured out how to build a database and to insert data into it but I am stuck after that.

This is generally what my database looks like:
Code: Select all
_names          _location            _price         _lotsOwned
"one"            "Atlanta"             120              132
"two"            "New York"            290              5
"three"          "Dallas"              4000             4

Now that I have my database set up I need to retrieve and manipulate that data.

Say I want to retrieve _lotOwned for "one", how would I query the database?
What if i wanted to find the _name of the one in "Dallas"?

I also need to edit this data.

How would I change the _lotsOwned of "one"?

I have been digging and digging through online tutorials and I find that they are all too vague that I cant quite follow how to do what I am looking for or they are far to specific that I cant convert it into what I need.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Dead_Jester
Freshman
Freshman

Re: SQLite Queries and editing?

Postby urbantrad » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:18 pm

First, open the database using
SQLiteDatabase db = mDatabaseOpenHelper.getWritableDatabase();

(If only reading data, you can use getReadableDatabase())

For reading data:
String table = "tableName";
String[] columns = new String[] {"_lotOwned"};
String selection = "_names = ?";
String[] selectionArgs = new String[] {"one"};
Cursor cursor = db.query(table, columns, selection, selectionArgs,
            null, null, null);

You can then use the cursor to navigate through the results. In place of the null arguments, you can use GROUPBY, HAVING and ORDER clauses as normal in SQL.

For editing data:
String table = "tableName";