Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /www/htdocs/w006661d/anddev/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1781
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 1007: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 1007: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 1007: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)

Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /www/htdocs/w006661d/anddev/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1781

Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /www/htdocs/w006661d/anddev/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1781

Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /www/htdocs/w006661d/anddev/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1781
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4362: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4364: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4365: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4366: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
anddev.org • View topic - [Solved] ProgressBar Problem (very typical requirenment)

[Solved] ProgressBar Problem (very typical requirenment)

Put your problem here if it does not fit any of the other categories.

[Solved] ProgressBar Problem (very typical requirenment)

Postby rahul_mawkins » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:45 pm

I have an application which have many screens
In one of the screens I am using a background process which do some web fetching etc
The progress of the background process is displayed in the progressbar thats hooked to title bar
But when I happen to leave the screens and goto other screens the progressbar disappear

Is there is a way we can avoid the disappearence of progressbar when user navigates to other
screens. Do I have to add the progressbar in every screen???


Any advice, Please help

Thanks
Rahul
rahul_mawkins
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:09 am

Top

Postby plusminus » Fri Mar 07, 2008 12:10 am

Hello rahul,

no this is not possible.
An ProgressDialog is only associated with an Activity(/Context). Another Activity launched, will be 'over' the old Activity with its "child-ProgressDialog".

Regards,
plusminus
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Postby rahul_mawkins » Fri Mar 07, 2008 12:23 am

Thanks +/- for the reply
Well I know this just I was curious to know about it

Couple of good question
1)If we leave the activity is it true that all child threads spawn by it will be killed.
2) I dont want my process to die so I am thinking of making it a service.
Is there is a way to add a handler to a service??

Thanks again for reply
cheers
Rahul
rahul_mawkins
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:09 am

Postby rahul_mawkins » Fri Mar 07, 2008 12:27 am

when i say handler I mean some guiHandler stuff
AIDL dont take other than primitive or List I guess beside other AIDL interfaces or parceable objects
rahul_mawkins
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:09 am

Postby rahul_mawkins » Fri Mar 07, 2008 1:27 am

Guess I found the answer....look for eg in RemoteService
We can register a callback which is again a aidl interface

Interesting
rahul_mawkins
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:09 am

how i made the same progress bar for all activities

Postby rahul_mawkins » Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:10 pm

I extended all my activity class by MyActivity which extends activity
In the MyActivity onCreate I create a progress bar and connect it to
a service which sends me the count of the progress bar

So any activity gets called it appears that the same progress bar is on top
:)

Rahul
rahul_mawkins
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:09 am

Top

Postby plusminus » Sat Mar 08, 2008 4:29 pm

Good workaround :)
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Top

Return to Other Coding-Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests