Profile Switcher app suggestions

Put your problem here if it does not fit any of the other categories.

Profile Switcher app suggestions

Postby 1taplay » Mon Feb 13, 2012 7:30 pm

Hey all,

im relatively new to android development and currently, im learning android programming while doing small projects on my own...

one of the projects that i been wanting to undertake is a profile switcher application which will change the audio loudness based on date/time etc...i know i will need to create some sort of background service that will check the time/date and perform changes to the phone's audio manager based on users preference..

i was wondering if any one can guide me on what all i need? i have been searching for code sample/examples for quite sometime but haven't gotten any luck so far...

Thanks for all your input...
1taplay
Freshman
Freshman

Re: Profile Switcher app suggestions

Postby Phyll » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:10 pm

Hi 1taplay,

I guess I would start with the preferences layout. How you or your users will enter the information that will control the sound. Some kind of daily schedule, a calendar? What will be the granularity of the control? How will the volume be indicated and set? Will you use real numbers as the system does or make them hi, medium and low or something.

I guess that's where I'd start. After that, having it check the time and see what it's supposed to be doing according to the schedule should be a piece of cake.

Hope that helps.

Phyll
Phyll
Master Developer
Master Developer

Postby 1taplay » Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:32 pm

hi all,