Install my app

Put your problem here if it does not fit any of the other categories.

Install my app

Postby drum » Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:37 pm

Okay so I've written a little test app, doesn't do anything special.

How do I now install it onto my G1 for real world testing?
drum
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:01 am

Top

Postby richard.puckett » Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:17 am

Depends on which OS you're using. Read this to get started.
Image
richard.puckett
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:37 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby drum » Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:31 am

Do you really have to sign the app etc. if it's just for testing?

Is there no simple blast it accros and have ago type thing?

BTW I'm using Eclipse and XP.
drum
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:01 am

Postby drum » Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:00 pm

I can see the device using adb.

However when I try to install the package or run it using eclips with the G1 plugged in, the PC just resets. Anybody any ideas.
drum
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:01 am

Postby mike_collins » Thu Nov 20, 2008 1:51 am

I'm having the same problem. A signed release build .apk works
just fine on the emulator.

But connecting the G1 to a 32-bit Windows XP SP3 box does show up,
e.g. "adb devices" shows the phone. But "adb install xx.apk"
causes the box to blue screen and reboot immediately.

Any ideas, hints, tips,
mike collins
mike_collins
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 1:43 am
Location: Oregon

Postby MrSnowflake » Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:42 am

Well the pc shouldn't reboot... Faulty windows (again). But to install apps from command line, your G1 must be in debug mode!
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Top

Postby mike_collins » Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:02 am

The problem is the G1 must be connected via USB 2. A USB 1 port
fails. USB 2 works just fine.

That makes it a Google driver fault in my book. Nothing in the
documentation about this either.
mike collins
mike_collins
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 1:43 am
Location: Oregon

Postby rakesh_mehta » Thu Nov 20, 2008 7:07 am

Hi..

I am agree with mike_collins..
Rakesh
User avatar
rakesh_mehta
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:46 am
Location: Ahmedabad(India)

Postby MrSnowflake » Thu Nov 20, 2008 1:40 pm

mike_collins wrote:The problem is the G1 must be connected via USB 2. A USB 1 port
fails. USB 2 works just fine.
Serious? That's an awfull mistake... Though, is it Googles of HTCs mistake?
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Postby mike_collins » Fri Nov 21, 2008 2:17 am

I would say whoever wrote the USB drivers, they are being distributed
by Google.
mike collins
mike_collins
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 1:43 am
Location: Oregon

Postby jmejiaa » Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:56 am

I set up a Google web page(free) and just upload my app there, then I download it from my phone.
jmejiaa
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 6:36 pm

Top

Return to Other Coding-Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 21 guests