Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /www/htdocs/w006661d/anddev/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1781
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 1007: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 1007: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 1007: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)

Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /www/htdocs/w006661d/anddev/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1781

Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /www/htdocs/w006661d/anddev/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1781

Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /www/htdocs/w006661d/anddev/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1781
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4362: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4364: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4365: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4366: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1781)
anddev.org • View topic - Implement identical Menu across several activities

Implement identical Menu across several activities

Put your problem here if it does not fit any of the other categories.

Implement identical Menu across several activities

Postby akshaydashrath » Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:41 pm

Hello all,

I have a small problem. I'm writing an application with several activities and need to have identical menu in all the activities. I was wondering if its possible to share the code for the menu between these activities.

Thank you,

Akshay
akshaydashrath
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:38 pm
Location: UK

Top

Postby stifry » Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:54 pm

You can do this either by inheritance or use a utility class like I did:

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using java Syntax Highlighting
  1.  
  2.         @Override
  3.  
  4.     public boolean onCreateOptionsMenu(Menu menu) {
  5.  
  6.         ActivityUtil.onCreateOptionsMenu(menu, this);
  7.  
  8.         return true;
  9.  
  10.     }
  11.  
  12.  
  13.  
  14.     @Override
  15.  
  16.     public boolean onOptionsItemSelected(MenuItem item) {
  17.  
  18.         ActivityUtil.onOptionsItemSelected(item, this);
  19.  
  20.         return true;
  21.  
  22.     }
  23.  
  24.  
Parsed in 0.012 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4


In ActivityUtil, you can define your menus.

Jeff
Visit Trackaroo.com!
Trackmaster - Motorsports Lap Timer
Dynomaster - Performance Dyno
Image Image
User avatar
stifry
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:50 pm

Postby akshaydashrath » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:22 pm

Hey Jeff,

Thanks, did it using the subclass approach.

Regards,

Akshay
akshaydashrath
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:38 pm
Location: UK

Postby stifry » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:36 pm

Yeah, that works, too. The only problem with that is if you need to subclass another important class like MapActivity. Then you're kind of stuck.
Visit Trackaroo.com!
Trackmaster - Motorsports Lap Timer
Dynomaster - Performance Dyno
Image Image
User avatar
stifry
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:50 pm

Postby akshaydashrath » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:40 pm

The activities I required the menu for were a subclass of a user defined activity which in turn actually was a subclass of MapActivity, so no problems there, and this basically is the core of the application, so I dont think it would change in the future, so I guess I'm safe :D. Thanks again.

Akshay
akshaydashrath
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:38 pm
Location: UK

Top

Return to Other Coding-Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 16 guests