Desktop dev needs web dev advice

try{ getFittingBoard(new Topic()); }
catch (Exception e) { postHere() };

Desktop dev needs web dev advice

Postby snctln » Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:50 am

hello everyone. I am looking for some advice/suggestions/recommendations/pointers.

My day job is C++ desktop development, for the past few months I have been doing more and more mobile apps. I am really enjoying android development but I have ran into a slight issue.

I would like to implement an online high score system for my latest game WordWrench but when it comes to web development I have never really bothered to put together too many websites and I don't have a firm grasp on what exactly I should do.

I assume the way this is usually implemented is that the android application makes a web connection to some web page and passes the relevant information as parameters? And then that web page takes those parameters and adds something to a database.

I have done a minimal amount of html work in the past, I did a semi large project in google web toolkit for one of my employers, and I took an intro to sql class in college, but nothing really beyond that.

I was thinking some sort of php/MySql solution, but like I said, I really don't know much about this stuff.

So does anyone have any thoughts on implementing a global online high score feature, both the web and android side of things?
Last edited by snctln on Fri Jan 23, 2009 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
snctln
Freshman
Freshman

Postby mortefer » Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:09 am

Not a long time ago a also asked myself about how to implement highscore system. I came to the following solution:
1. you must set up DB to store results (single table would be enough)
2. i though of creating a SOAP Interface so receive connections with high scores (but possibly simple POST/GET requests would do just fine)
3. from your app you open connection to your page (let it be PHP) and pass parameters to it, i.e.: