Networking from emulator instance and development machine

Basic Tutorials concerning: GUI, Views, Activites, XML, Layouts, Intents, ...

Networking from emulator instance and development machine

Postby p4squ1 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:08 pm

Hi all! I'm a newbie on programming with android and I have the following problem:

I don't be able to connect the emulator's instance with my dev machine. In the emulator's instance is configured a client that have to connect on UDP with a server that running in my dev machine. The client is setted to communicate on address 10.0.2.2(my "127.0.0.1" dev machine) on port 4444. The server is listening on address 127.0.0.1 on port 4444. The client send the packet, but the server don't receive them. What are the problem???

I'm grateful who will help me!! PLEASE!!
p4squ1
Freshman
Freshman

Postby TuxBobble » Wed Dec 30, 2009 7:39 pm

I am not going to be able to help you, as I am new to Android development as well.

Unless the AVD has a restriction on networking (I would hope not but I don't know for sure) I would suggest posting your source code, or at least the parts that you're having trouble with, so that we can look and see what might be wrong.

I am going to be working on networking to a server as well, but I haven't yet started my Android development, just refreshing myself in Java first.

So please, when you have a question like "why doesn't it work?" attach code so that we may be able to help you understand what is wrong with it, and reply effectively.
TuxBobble
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby DMacATTACK » Thu Dec 31, 2009 6:40 pm

Although I am just starting with Android Development, I have done quite a bit of work with socket programming, so I'll try to help.

There are a few steps you could follow to remedy your problem:
1) Make sure your router is set up to do port forwarding (log into your router, and configure port 4444 for UDP).
2) Try 127.0.0.1 on your emulator client