Help With Alarm Clock

Basic Tutorials concerning: GUI, Views, Activites, XML, Layouts, Intents, ...

Help With Alarm Clock

Postby sunny342 » Tue May 18, 2010 1:32 am

Hello anddev members,
Well I am currently in a computer science class in high school, and as a end of the year project I plan to make a alarm clock app. from scratch. I have a good knowledge of java but im new to android development. So i need some help or at least some resources that help. I have managed to setup a linear layout with a list of checkboxs. THese check boxes will represent different alarms that can be checked on and off. On the menu i have setup a button that says add alarm that i want to create a new check box on the screen. How do i do that? Secondly i want when i press the "add alarm" button on the menu, the app. should go to another page/view that will set up the alarm. Is this setup page a separate activity, or just view. Thirdly where do i save the data like the alarm info?

Hope someone can help! any suggestions/reasources would be apprieciated.
Thanks in advance!

P.S. I sorry if some of these questions have been asked elsewhere, its just that this website is blocked at my school so i dont get much time to search.
sunny342
Freshman
Freshman

Re: Help With Alarm Clock

Postby ethan.close » Wed May 19, 2010 5:30 pm

Hi there,

I've been working on alarms for the last week, but am not doing something as complex as you. However, I have a couple suggestions:

To add the new checkbox, I think you need to do that in the code, not in a layout. Check out this link: http://markmail.org/message/bbrk7cao36ypl6uu

When you want to go to another page, I *think* you need to either redraw the page using "setContentView()" or call an activity that sets the content view (or even re-call the whole application - which I'm pretty sure is wrong, unless you're not sure the application is running ;) Someone could correct me here and I would be helped as well.)