Desperate Noob

Basic Tutorials concerning: GUI, Views, Activites, XML, Layouts, Intents, ...

Desperate Noob

Postby MsNoob » Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:48 pm

I'm a complete noob, so I apologise in advance if my questions reveal my total ignorance of what I am doing. :-)

I am trying to build apps to point to each of my websites. Just like appsgeyser.com, but with no advert, and with my certificate. I have spent all day on it, but have finally managed to get Java SDK, Eclipse, and Android SDK Manager running on my PC. OMG... I can't believe how hard it was!

I have two questions... in the hope of kindness (or pity!).

1. Can someone post the code I need to send the user to my site when they click the app? I guess it is simple... for you... but not for me. I can then just change the URL for each site I have.

2. I have some 'hello world' code in Eclipse, and can run it in the emulator. BUT, how do I make an APK file from that? How do I get from the code to the apk?

I know I have to sign it with my certificate after that, but that's a battle for another day.

If I can get these two questions sorted, I think I might make it through... perhaps.

Can someone help? Please?

Miss Noob
MsNoob
Once Poster
Once Poster

Re: Desperate Noob

Postby Car Roof Racks » Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:17 pm

I think you can get code and apk file creation steps in Andriod official sites. I think its Andriod.com. Hope this might help you. I am also new to Andriod some arround 6 months only.
Car Roof Racks
Freshman
Freshman

Postby DMacATTACK » Tue Jul 05, 2011 3:14 pm

If your app when launched just opens a website then this code should be put in the onCreate method of your primary Activity:

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using java Syntax Highlighting
  1.                 Intent objIntent = new Intent();
  2.                 objIntent.setAction(Intent.ACTION_VIEW);
  3.                 objIntent.addCategory(Intent.CATEGORY_BROWSABLE);