Can't install Dev Kit, at the end of my tether

Basic Tutorials concerning: GUI, Views, Activites, XML, Layouts, Intents, ...

Can't install Dev Kit, at the end of my tether

Postby Subjective Effect » Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:30 pm

I'm so annoyed by this I'm this close to packing in the whole idea of doing any Android development. I don't think I've been this frustrated by something that should be so simple in the last 5 years.

I cannot install the SDK.

My background: I've done PHP/Apache/mySQL/SQL (Oracle)/JavaScript/HTML/CSS stuff for years, and I've had to install different development environments for this, as well as manual installs of PHP and mySQL. I'm not a total noob in other wordsl

I've been to the official site: http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

but tbh its not clear. At all.

Which do I install first, and from where? There are several steps but I'm even stumped on Step 0 (zero, lol). You're supposed to have Eclipse, right? Well I installed it (the recommended Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers) and JDK 6 but I can't even add ADT because Eclipse wont start.

It tells me it needs some java component that isn't in folder x. Well there IS NO folder x in the Eclipse directory.

Soooo...

I installed a different version of Eclipse (Eclipse IDE for Java Developers) which seemed ok. I was able to add ADT.

Now here is one of the problems. In the guide adding ADT is in step 0, but then when you go back its step 2 - AFTER installing the SDK starter package. So I thought this might be ok.

I then went to the Hello World tutorial and after entering "android create avd --target 2 --name my_avd" at the cmd prompt (whilst in the tools directory) I get another Java error.