G1 in my hands - REVIEW

Supervised News & Rumors concerning the Google Android Platform.

G1 in my hands - REVIEW

Postby plusminus » Wed Oct 22, 2008 4:43 pm

Hello Community,

I'm just writing this from my G1 !!!!


[Edit]


[Edit]

/plusminus for anddev.org
Last edited by plusminus on Wed Oct 22, 2008 5:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Top

Postby coding_android » Wed Oct 22, 2008 4:44 pm

Great to read that. :-) Have fun with your G1 and start testing apps. I'm looking forward reading your review. :D
If you got job opportunities for me. Just drop me a personal message. - Android developement - integrating social media into Android
User avatar
coding_android
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 10:22 am
Location: Germany

Postby plusminus » Wed Oct 22, 2008 4:53 pm

I'll write a kindof live review in the Reviews-Section.. :)
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

http://androidcommunity.com/

Postby drhu00 » Wed Oct 22, 2008 5:40 pm

T-Mobile have officially launched the G1 powered by Google Android in the US. The wait is over, and those of you who wanted to get some hands-on experience with the G1 can now head into stores and have a play yourself. Available both in-store and online, the G1 starts from $179.99 with a new, two-year contract. Availability, however, is listed as ... continued »
drhu00
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:41 pm

Postby Danuubz » Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:20 pm

nice device :D

@plusminus: was there a contract-free version available in the shop where you bought it, or everything just with 2 year data plan?
User avatar
Danuubz
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: Germany

Postby jasont » Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:33 pm

You will no doubt love the device!

Congrats 8)
jasont
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:39 pm
Location: California

Top

Postby plusminus » Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:39 pm

Danuubz wrote:nice device :D

@plusminus: was there a contract-free version available in the shop where you bought it, or everything just with 2 year data plan?


Added pricing-informations to the review. :)
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Postby plusminus » Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:27 pm

Added a Video of an Accelerometer-Game.
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Postby ducateg » Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:43 pm

I have a question for G1 owners:

Can I link a G1 phone to a laptop/PC through a USB cable to use the internet connection of the computer and run Android apps that require http requests.

Why do I want to do this? I know it is a little weird and I know a tethered modem works the other way round but that's what I want to do.

This would in fact allow me to interface with green side web services (remember there is no VPN client on Android, and chances are I won't find such a thing any time soon).

Many thanks in advance.
User avatar
ducateg
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:32 am
Location: Ipswich UK

Locked G1 - how to go past startup screen !!

Postby snep » Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:34 pm

I bought my G1 phone on ebay which was locked and the seller promised me that the phone would be usable for all functionality other than being able to call and use internet via edge/3g. But that was not true, I can't go past the google create/login startup screen and can't go past the initial validation. I don't have a t-mobile connection and I am on att. Is there anyway I can go past the initiation screen. I just want to be able to upload my apps and test them.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,
Eshwar.
snep
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:01 am

Re: Locked G1 - how to go past startup screen !!

Postby plusminus » Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:49 pm

Hello snep,

afaik what you bought sounds not like an unlocked device (which I don't think is possible yet) but a device without the 2year contract. What I heard is that you have to use your G1 for at least 3 months wit T-Mobile until you can use a different carrier. :(


snep wrote:I bought my G1 phone on ebay which was locked and the seller promised me that the phone would be usable for all functionality other than being able to call and use internet via edge/3g. But that was not true, I can't go past the google create/login startup screen and can't go past the initial validation. I don't have a t-mobile connection and I am on att. Is there anyway I can go past the initiation screen. I just want to be able to upload my apps and test them.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,
Eshwar.
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Postby snep » Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:59 pm

Thanks for your quick response. Actually, I don't care if I am not able to use G1 for making calls. All I want is to be able to upload my apps on to the phone and test it. Do you think its impossible to do that on a locked phone?
snep
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:01 am

Postby plusminus » Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:46 pm

snep wrote:Thanks for your quick response. Actually, I don't care if I am not able to use G1 for making calls. All I want is to be able to upload my apps on to the phone and test it. Do you think its impossible to do that on a locked phone?


You need a GMail-Account for logging on for the very first time. Also I assume you need to do that through T-Mobiles network :?
Image
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
User avatar
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Schriesheim, Germany

Postby Steph » Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:58 pm

I'd prefer have a Touch HD with Android (but i need to wait :'()
Steph
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:48 pm
Location: France

Postby Danuubz » Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:30 am

Today I have received my G1 device here in Germany :D

It works perfectly without any trouble (I already had a T-Mobile sim card with contract though). Registration no prob, making calls no prob.

I can access Internet via EDGE as I don't live in a 3G area, but EDGE seems to be ok, too (and is available everywhere in the country). The question is, how much i'll have to pay for :)

The analog charger can't be used here... so I do it with the delivered USB cable.
User avatar
Danuubz
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: Germany

Top
Next

Return to News & Rumors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests