G1 in my hands - REVIEW

Supervised News & Rumors concerning the Google Android Platform.

Postby MrSnowflake » Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:34 am

Where did you buy it? What did it cost (of course in €)? What were shipping costs? Is it cool? :).

I live in Belgium (as you all can see), and I want an Android phone too.
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Top

Postby Danuubz » Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:44 am

I bought it on Ebay :)

With shipping there are several variants (from 12 ... 50 ... 70 Dollars). Costs were little more than from the shop.

I like the phone very much :wink: On the first view, performance seems to be even better than on the emulator, but I haven't tested much yet.
User avatar
Danuubz
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: Germany

Postby MrSnowflake » Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:27 pm

But how much does it cost in the shop?
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Postby Danuubz » Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:46 pm

$399 without contract I think

*EDIT* I tested a rather heavyweight application I wrote. The G1 has a better performance than the emulator.

The animation I posted @2D tutorial has much better quality.

Debug mode is great :D
User avatar
Danuubz
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: Germany

Postby MrSnowflake » Tue Nov 18, 2008 1:54 pm

Damn €399 is a lot. My GF would kill me.. :'(
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Postby Danuubz » Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:33 pm

Yep, these devices should become cheaper. :(
User avatar
Danuubz
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: Germany

Top

Postby Danuubz » Tue Nov 18, 2008 4:04 pm

* It also works without SIM card. However I had to take a pliers to remove it :?

* Keyboard is ok if you got longer nails :wink: it's little hard to type with the entire finger.

* the screen (/size) is really ok. Everything your eyes get to see on the emulator, they also get to see on G1 (almost).

* as far as I can see, the applications work exactly the same like on the emulator. No modifications required yet.
User avatar
Danuubz
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: Germany

charger question

Postby mrosseel » Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:04 pm

Hi,

I've just received my G1 here in Belgium, and I had a charger-related question:
would the charger from my nintendo DS work? Haven't tried it yet but it looks the same kind of usb plug.
Anyone tried alternative chargers?

Mike
mrosseel
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:19 am

Postby Danuubz » Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:38 pm

I don't know if the Nitendo DS charger works, but you can charge your device by connecting it to the PC by the delievered USB cable (that's how I do).

* do you have problems with roaming? I only use it without SIM card to avoid potential cost traps.

* WLAN works fine with my DSL router at home (without SIM card).
Sticky Note Cork&Orc [Android Market] : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewWaquAwZQY
User avatar
Danuubz
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:44 pm
Location: Germany

Postby mrosseel » Wed Dec 17, 2008 5:12 pm

yes the usb cable works to charge my G1, but for that I need to leave my PC on so charging overnight is rather cumbersome.

For me everything works perfectly, I did have to go online temporarily to activate using my gmail account.
After that I erased my APN settings (settings to allow the phone to reach the internet with my provider).
As such I'm pretty sure he doesn't have the information to even connect and go online.

So I just put my SIM card and can call and surf using WIFI, tommorow my internet subscription will be activated so then I'll be 3G'ing as well. Roaming will indeed become an issue once my 3G is activated and I leave the country, by then I hope to know more about the issue.
mrosseel
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:19 am

Postby MrSnowflake » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:01 pm

the DS doesn't have mini usb... :s

But you can buy any usb adapter which you can plugin to the wall socket. The MediaMarkt should have them.
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Postby mrosseel » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:15 pm

indeed, sorry about that, it looked like a small usb but indeed not mini enough for the G1...

But good to know it works with anything which ends in a mini-usb plug!
mrosseel
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:19 am

Postby MrSnowflake » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:22 pm

How much did it cost, and where did you get it from?
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Postby mrosseel » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:27 pm

I bought it from an ebay dealer (bought it twice, first time I didn't receive it so had to claim my money back via paypal). Total was 360 euro + 108 euro import tax. It was worth it, now I can test my apps a bit.
mrosseel
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:19 am

Postby MrSnowflake » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:35 pm

Pfff that's a lot! My sweet girlfriend will never let me buy one for that kind of money... :'(
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Top
PreviousNext

Return to News & Rumors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest