Proxy connection issues

Problems with WiFi, SQLite ,Bluetooth, WiMax, Proxies, etc...

Proxy connection issues

Postby cp77 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:54 pm

Hi,

I'm new to Android and Java, but I am a 'proper' developer.

I'm trying to get the emulator to work behind the company proxy, and thought I had it cracked but I haven't. I've set up the APN using the proxy name, port, username and password and now the Browser application is happy it will pull pages back and display them. But following the HelloGoogleMaps and HelloWebView tutorials off the main Android site and they don't work. I tried them on the other side of the proxy and they work fine for both (so my Google key is OK).

So what I know is...
-http-proxy apparently doesn't work
-verbose-proxy should be –debug-proxy but it doesn’t tell me much anyway
I have...
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using xml Syntax Highlighting
  1. <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.INTERNET" />
Parsed in 0.000 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4

...in my manifest file.
The SQL INSERT may work but I find it a little offensive that I have to do it so am still looking for a cleaner official way of resolving this.

I'm concluding that this must be a proxy issue as the code works fine on the other side of the proxy, but I'm struggling to see how to set the proxy up correctly for applications. I thought setting the APN would be enough but it appears not to be.

Do I need to tell the app to use the APN or something? How? As I say I’m new to Java and Android so I don't know if this is a Java thing or an Android thing.

Can anyone help?
Thanks,
- Chris.
cp77
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby billd » Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:17 pm

Hi Chris,

I can't help, but if it makes you feel any better, I'm having the same problem.