Not able to read data from the shell command

Problems with WiFi, SQLite ,Bluetooth, WiMax, Proxies, etc...

Not able to read data from the shell command

Postby discover_dileep » Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:18 pm

Hi,
I am using +- code .I am able to diaplay the data thing on the emulator but when I am trying to see the database table using shell command,then I am not able to find the database table.
Plz help me out.
my code is :-
package com.android.hello;


import java.util.ArrayList;

import android.app.ListActivity;
import android.database.Cursor;
import android.database.sqlite.SQLiteDatabase;
import android.os.Bundle;
import android.widget.ArrayAdapter;
import android.widget.EditText;

public class DataBaseWork extends ListActivity {

private final String MY_DATABASE_NAME = "myCoolDB_2.db";
private final String MY_DATABASE_TABLE = "Users";

/** Called when the activity is first created. */
@Override
public void onCreate(Bundle icicle) {
super.onCreate(icicle);

EditText et = new EditText(this);
et.setSelection(et.getText().length());
/* Will hold the 'Output' we want to display at the end. */
ArrayList<String> results = new ArrayList<String>();

SQLiteDatabase myDB = null;
try {
/* Create the Database (no Errors if it already exists) */
myDB = this.openOrCreateDatabase(MY_DATABASE_NAME, MODE_PRIVATE, null);

/* Create a Table in the Database. */
myDB.execSQL("CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS "
+ MY_DATABASE_TABLE
+ " (LastName VARCHAR, FirstName VARCHAR,"
+ " Country VARCHAR, Age INT(3));");

/* Add two DataSets to the Table. */
myDB.execSQL("INSERT INTO "
+ MY_DATABASE_TABLE
+ " (LastName, FirstName, Country, Age)"
+ " VALUES ('Gramlich', 'Nicolas', 'Germany', 20);");
myDB.execSQL("INSERT INTO "
+ MY_DATABASE_TABLE
+ " (LastName, FirstName, Country, Age)"
+ " VALUES ('Doe', 'John', 'US', 34);");

/* Query for some results with Selection and Projection. */
Cursor c = myDB.rawQuery("SELECT FirstName,Age" +
" FROM " + MY_DATABASE_TABLE
+ " WHERE Age > 10 LIMIT 7;",
null);

/* Get the indices of the Columns we will need */
int firstNameColumn = c.getColumnIndex("FirstName");
int ageColumn = c.getColumnIndex("Age");

/* Check if our result was valid. */
c.moveToFirst();
if (c != null) {
/* Check if at least one Result was returned. */
if (c.isFirst()) {
int i = 0;
/* Loop through all Results */
do {
i++;
/* Retrieve the values of the Entry
* the Cursor is pointing to. */
String firstName = c.getString(firstNameColumn);
int age = c.getInt(ageColumn);
/* We can also receive the Name
* of a Column by its Index.
* Makes no sense, as we already
* know the Name, but just to show we can */
String ageColumName = c.getColumnName(ageColumn);

/* Add current Entry to results. */
results.add("" + i + ": " + firstName
+ " (" + ageColumName + ": " + age + ")");
} while(c.moveToNext());

}
}

} finally {
if (myDB != null)
myDB.close();
}

this.setListAdapter(new ArrayAdapter<String>(this,
android.R.layout.simple_list_item_1, results));
}


}

thanks
dilu
discover_dileep
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:19 pm

Top

Postby MrSnowflake » Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:28 pm

The database should be in "/data/data/yourpackage/DataBaseWork/" or something similar.
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

i am trying the same thing

Postby discover_dileep » Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:49 pm

Hi snowflake
I am trying the same thing but still not able to get it.Please HELP ME.
THANKS
DILU
discover_dileep
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:19 pm

Top

Return to Networking & Database Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 7 guests