How do I insert data into table right after the database is

Problems with WiFi, SQLite ,Bluetooth, WiMax, Proxies, etc...

How do I insert data into table right after the database is

Postby calebrogers » Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:48 am

Hi,

I'm new to android development, and this forum, and I'm basically just trying out different things to see what I can do. The docs are a little thin in some areas...

My question is this: How do I insert a few records into a newly created database table when the app is installed? I was using the Notepad example from Google, and just hacking it apart to see what kind of different functionality I can get out of it. It seems that shipping an application with data already in a database is a trouble spot for android.

I've seen tutorials where someone creates a database on the emulator, and then uses that as a resource, and then imports it when the database is created, but that's not really what I'm after. I want to be able to run a few insert queries right when the database is created.

I tried a db.rawQuery right after the db.execSQL(DATABASE_CREATE) statement, but that didn't work. If I put the insert queries in the apps onCreate function, then that will insert the data every time the app loads, right? I don't want duplicate data.

So my basic problem is shipping an application with a pre-populated database. Besides the pre-baked database resource idea (that really isn't something I want to do), I haven't yet found any other suitable tutorials. There are 3 ways I can add data to my table (as far as I can see):

1) run insert queries the first time the app runs
2) download the data from a web server and run insert queries once, the first time the app runs
3) have a flat file with data, read it in, and run insert queries on the data, the first time the app runs.

And since I'm thinking about it, how do you tell your code to do something only the first time an app is run?