Connecting app to MySQL or use web services?

Problems with WiFi, SQLite ,Bluetooth, WiMax, Proxies, etc...

Connecting app to MySQL or use web services?

Postby Enki » Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:27 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm New to Android and Java, developing an application. Need some help.

There is a website and MySQL DB. Some users. I want the app to be able to access the DB and get and put info into it. So that the website and the app would share one DB. I was researching into JDBC. But someone told me it's better to use web services.
The app supposed to be constantly running on the background by default, and sometimes it's possible just to use it for a short time with limited functions (without GPS). So if someone have the full functionality, the app supposed to track the phone and right it to the DB (for functions like to find a friend or record a path on google maps and send it to a friend).
Enki
Freshman
Freshman

Postby jonw » Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:50 am

So that's very broadly what you want to do, what's the question? :)
jonw
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby Enki » Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:42 pm

jonw wrote:So that's very broadly what you want to do, what's the question? :)

One programmer told me that i cannot connect Android App to a DB on a server directly, i need to use web services. Is that true?
Or should i store data into local SQlite on the Android and then sync it with the DB on the server?
Enki
Freshman
Freshman

Postby jonw » Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:00 pm

One programmer told me that i cannot connect Android App to a DB on a server directly, i need to use web services. Is that true?

Aha. OK cool :) Is that true? I don't think so;
http://developer.android.com/reference/ ... mmary.html