Using radio buttons to play .ogg

All your problems with Audio, Video and Images.

Using radio buttons to play .ogg

Postby Sport40L » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:29 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Android development, but have a little Java experience. I just finished designing my UI and I have three radio buttons I would like to use to play a .ogg file based on their selection. There is a separate stop button at the bottom to cease play. What would be the best way to go about implementing this? Should I create a mediaPlayer object and then use a onClick handler to set which file to play? Any help or examples you can provide would be helpful. Thanks in advance.
Sport40L
Freshman
Freshman

Postby appforce » Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:13 pm

Hi,

Your RadioButtons should be nested into RadioGroup and you should use setOnCheckedChangeListener on it. For the playing itself - if your .ogg-s are very small you should use SoundPool, otherwise MediaPlayer is needed, but you have to run the prepare() method in separate thread to prevent blocking the user input. Or you can use prepareAsync with setOnPreparedListener. Make sure you're doing a reset() on the MediaPlayer each time you switch to different .ogg file.

Android developers
appforce
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer

Postby Sport40L » Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:20 pm

appforce wrote:Hi,

Your RadioButtons should be nested into RadioGroup and you should use setOnCheckedChangeListener on it. For the playing itself - if your .ogg-s are very small you should use SoundPool, otherwise MediaPlayer is needed, but you have to run the prepare() method in separate thread to prevent blocking the user input. Or you can use prepareAsync with setOnPreparedListener. Make sure you're doing a reset() on the MediaPlayer each time you switch to different .ogg file.

Android developers