Serious map problem

Put problem concerning MapActivities, MapViews, Overlays and GPS in this forum.

Serious map problem

Postby BharathMohan » Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:12 am

hi......

i had problem with google map app......... :oops:
maps are not loading it shows only grid........ i had proper APIKEY , and i had given all permissions but i'm not getting maps. can any provide solution for this thakx in advance


Manifest file .....

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
package="com.android.MyTrip"
android:versionCode="1"
android:versionName="1.6">
<application android:icon="@drawable/icon" android:label="@string/app_name">
<activity android:name=".MyTrip"
android:label="@string/app_name">
<intent-filter>
<action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />
<category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER" />
</intent-filter>
</activity>
<activity android:name=".StartTrip" android:label="StartTrip">
<intent-filter>
<action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />
<category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER" />
</intent-filter>
</activity>
<activity android:name=".ListTrip" android:label="ListTrip">
<intent-filter>
<action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />
<category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER" />
</intent-filter>
</activity>
<activity android:name=".Route" android:label="Route">
<intent-filter>
<action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />
<category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER" />
</intent-filter>
</activity>
<activity android:name=".Graph" android:label="Graph">
<intent-filter>
<action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />
<category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER" />
</intent-filter>
</activity>
<uses-library android:name="com.google.android.maps"/>

</application>
<uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="4" />

<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.ACCESS_FINE_LOCATION"></uses-permission>
<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.ACCESS_COARSE_LOCATION"></uses-permission>
<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.INTERNET"></uses-permission>

</manifest>


My Xml

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<RelativeLayout xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
android:orientation="vertical"
android:layout_width="fill_parent"
android:layout_height="fill_parent"
>
<com.google.android.maps.MapView
android:id="@+id/myMapView1"
android:layout_width="fill_parent"
android:layout_height="fill_parent"
android:enabled="true"
android:clickable="true"
android:apiKey="0qeVFwClpv-unhn9ODwSLfgo0s8x-CxqRSd_zmg"
/>

<LinearLayout android:id="@+id/zoom"
android:layout_width="wrap_content"
android:layout_height="wrap_content"
android:layout_alignParentBottom="true"
android:layout_centerHorizontal="true"
/>
</RelativeLayout>
Last edited by BharathMohan on Tue Dec 08, 2009 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BharathMohan
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:52 am

Top

Postby naveenballa » Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:01 am

same problem for me tooo
can anyone give us solution
naveenballa
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 12:53 pm

Postby razor » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:18 am

do you have any errors in log ?
razor
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:02 am

Postby vkroz » Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:39 am

Same problem. It seems that the problem lays somewhere in computer/network configuration. I tried to run the same application on emulator on three different machines. On one machine it worked without problems, on two others - map was shown as grey grid. And this was absolutely the same code/configuration (at least as what I saw)
vkroz
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:36 pm

Postby razor » Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:05 pm

is Browser working on your emulator ? (can you browse some pages)
razor
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:02 am

Postby naveenballa » Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:25 am

same problem here as vkroz

but razor i can browse net from emulator
naveenballa
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 12:53 pm

Top

Postby john.drake.hoffman » Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:04 am

i too have a similar issue. i can view web pages and maps using the built in emulator apps, but even when i use the sample map code, i get the grid.....
john.drake.hoffman
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:01 am

Postby nicholas.hauschild » Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:24 pm

Now I am not 100% sure I know what the issue is here, but I have a suggestion for vkroz.

It is my understanding that the apikey that is received from Google can only be used for the SPECIFIC KEYSTORE MD5 fingerprint which it was generated with. That said, if you are trying to use the same key on three different emulators on three different machines, wouldnt it be using the wrong key on two of them? I suspect that you will need to generate a different key from your DEBUG KEYSTORE on each machine to get it to work with the emulator on each machine.

Another note, again, not sure what exactly anyone here is trying when getting the empty grid, but, you will need to have two different keys when trying to do things from the emulator and from your own device. The apikey generated with the DEBUG KEYSTORE should not work on YOUR device, only the emulator.

If anyone has any questions, feel free to PM me and I will see if I can help with your specific issue.

-Nick
nicholas.hauschild
Master Developer
Master Developer
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:50 am

Top

Return to Map Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 2 guests