Problems with getting the MD5

Put problem concerning MapActivities, MapViews, Overlays and GPS in this forum.

Problems with getting the MD5

Postby linkmaster_6 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 9:13 pm

Hello i have tried doing what plusminus said from his article http://www.anddev.org/viewtopic.php?p=12221 and i keep running into an error when trying to get my MD5 figure print.

here is the error and what i have tried


D:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_05\bin>keytool -list -alias androiddebugkey -keys
tore D:\Documents and Settings\matthew\Local Settings\Application Data\Android -storepass android -keypass android
keytool error: java.lang.RuntimeException: Usage error, and is not a legal command


please try to make the best sense out of it as you can and tell me what im doing wrong. thank you :)
linkmaster_6
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:52 pm

Top

Postby Quetzalcoatl » Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:41 am

Hi Linkmaster,

I think the problem might be due to there being spaces in the path to the keystore, might be worth giving it a try like this:

keytool -list -alias androiddebugkey -keystore
"D:\Documents and Settings\matthew\Local Settings\Application Data\Android" -storepass android -keypass android

Just put the quotes around it, I've had loads of situations like this in the past with Symbian and other stuff.
Image
Quetzalcoatl
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: near Manchester, UK

Postby Bruce.lntu » Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:34 am

copy the "debug.keystore" to a new direction eg. C:\android\debug.keystore.

then use the command to take another try.

Regards
Bruce
User avatar
Bruce.lntu
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:36 am

Postby linkmaster_6 » Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:07 pm

Thank you very much both of you helped so much. it is working correctly now :)
linkmaster_6
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:52 pm

Postby cassianotartari » Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:20 am

Only a doubt,

I have to get this MD5-Hash to use maps on Android, but even using m5-r15 ? I don't have much time to translate my code to the last version because I need to submit it to graduate.
public class pessoa {
private String nome = "Cassiano Tartari";
private String url = "www.cassianotartari.eng.br"
}
User avatar
cassianotartari
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:42 pm

Postby Quetzalcoatl » Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:13 am

I think the api key needs to be used to actually access maps rather than it being based on which version of the SDK you are using (although someone may well correct me :D). I'd suggest doing it anyway and seeing if it works, doesn't take very long to do if you follow PlusMinus's instructions. I only had a problem because I had 2 separate keystores and the path was pointing to the wrong one :?
Image
Quetzalcoatl
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: near Manchester, UK

Top

Postby cassianotartari » Fri Oct 31, 2008 12:42 am

I tryed
Code: Select all
./keytool -list -alias androiddebugkey -keystore ~/.android/debug.keystore -storepass android -keypass android


In
Code: Select all
/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun-1.6.0.07/bin


But in the ~/.android/ just have this files:
Code: Select all
ddms.cfg  default.keyset  emulator.cfg  userdata-qemu.img


I'm using m5-r15 on LINUX and I don't have much time to translate my code to the last version because I need to submit it to graduate.

What I have to do ?
public class pessoa {
private String nome = "Cassiano Tartari";
private String url = "www.cassianotartari.eng.br"
}
User avatar
cassianotartari
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:42 pm

Postby Quetzalcoatl » Fri Oct 31, 2008 12:56 am

Use the following to generate a new one:

keytool -v -genkeypair -alias <usually_your_name> -keyalg RSA -validity 365 -keystore <name_your_keystore>

Taken from Linkage

Hope this helps, just create debug.keystore and make sure it's in the correct place for linux (~/.android/ :?: ) then go about the usual listing for the MD5 code.
Image
Quetzalcoatl
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: near Manchester, UK

Postby cassianotartari » Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:03 am

Thanks,

I did it in the same time that you posted this.

But when I put:
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using xml Syntax Highlighting
  1.         <view
  2.  
  3.                 android:id="@+id/mapaView" class="com.google.android.maps.MapView"
  4.  
  5.                 android:layout_width="fill_parent"
  6.  
  7.                 android:layout_height="fill_parent"
  8.  
  9.                 android:layout_weight="1"
  10.  
  11.                 android:apiKey="0uO9un5ffsTqDtC_dBgo72VS1WwffBAJvyjE2bQ" />
Parsed in 0.001 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4


Error: No indentifier found for attribute 'apiKey' in package 'android'


I'm using m5-r15, what I have to do to use the mapView ?
public class pessoa {
private String nome = "Cassiano Tartari";
private String url = "www.cassianotartari.eng.br"
}
User avatar
cassianotartari
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:42 pm

Postby Quetzalcoatl » Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:09 pm

Is it not just worth spending some time this weekend seeing what problems arise if you try build against 1.0 SDK :?:

Just download it to a different location and copy your project across, if there's only a few problem then you might be onto a winner. Better than spending days trying to get something that is no longer supported working.
Image
Quetzalcoatl
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: near Manchester, UK

Top

Return to Map Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests