Locate Zoom Controls (x,y) in MapView?

Put problem concerning MapActivities, MapViews, Overlays and GPS in this forum.

Locate Zoom Controls (x,y) in MapView?

Postby mcmatom » Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:32 pm

Hi all,

I apologize in advance for my ignorance. I am a seasoned SW developer but new to Android. I am developing my first Android application (MapActivity) for a friend of mine and have managed to fight my way through a myriad of problems handling gestures, not the least of which was onTap(GeoPoint p, MapView mapView) used to capture a non marker tap in the ItemizedOverlay intercepting every gesture available. I settled on using OnSingleTapConfirmed from DoubleTapListener and handling the marker/non-marker tap logic from there. I have still one issue remaining I cannot seem to solve. OnSingleTapConfirmed apparently is handled before
the built in Zoom Controls, so when I tap in the space where the zoom controls are hidden, I get the non-marker tap behavior in addition to the zoom control becoming visible which is not what I want. I'd like to only see the zoom controls become visible in that case.

I figured I could simply do a hit test on the zoom control rectangle and if I get a hit, simply bail out of OnSingleTapConfirmed with a FALSE return value and let the built in logic take it from there. I am able to get the rectangle for the zoom controls using the MapView's getZoomButtonsController() and then calling getZoomControls() from there. I then call getHitRect to get the target touch area. The problem
I am having is determining where the Zoom Control's starting x,y position isrelative to the MapView.
Once I can determine that, I can apply the offset to my hit rectangle and simply do a contains check.

It may be very simple and likely is and I can't see it (I've been looking at this too long and think I can't see the forest for the trees), but I'm spinning my wheels at this point.