Developing Map

Put problem concerning MapActivities, MapViews, Overlays and GPS in this forum.

Developing Map

Postby vineza » Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:41 am

Hi All,

I am a student and assign to develop map application which able to show all possible ways to go to a particular place when starting point and destination being specify by user. How am I suppose to do. I have no idea on doing so. I hope anyone could guide and provide me some resources for my reference.

Thank You

Regards
Vinz
vineza
Freshman
Freshman

Postby fresco » Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:56 am

First of all you have to build a graph structure "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graph_(mathematics)". Each node will represent a junction and each edge a road between two junctions. Now everything is simple, you just have to apply one of path finding algorithms on your graph. For example "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dijkstra's_algorithm" will find a shortes way between two points. You can use BSF or DFS algorithms as well.
fresco
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby plusminus » Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:57 pm

Hello guys,

What fresco said is right, but coding an algorithm is not the problem in this case :!: (Search for " A* " or "A Star")
The problem is how to get the map-data :!:
(I am assuming that you want to do a real life map application :?: )
Give us a little information on what you finally want do do (if it isn't secret ;) ).

Regards,
plusminus
Image | Android Development Community / Tutorials
plusminus
Site Admin
Site Admin

Developing Map

Postby vineza » Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:25 pm