Questions on having games & apps made via freelancers...

Offer / request Android-related Jobs.
Search for a team or team-members.

Questions on having games & apps made via freelancers...

Postby CoolhandLocke » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:50 pm

Hello all, new to the forums & here's my first post. Let me start off by saying, I am new to to the process of getting a game developed, but not new to Android. I'm on my 4th phone in little over a year and work with Android daily. I currently write game & app reviews for a great Android site, and also do freelance writing, beta-testing, and have even done a bit of marketing/consultation on apps. Lately I've been thinking about paying to have a game or application developed, as I just don't' have the free time to learn right now. Being as this is a dev community, I thought it best to ask a few questions here first. I picked this particular board as I want to hear from the people that make the magic happen, not middlemen...

I know you can hire freelance developers, and that you'll get what you pay for. If your wanting an awesome app done for 200 bucks, you'll probably find someone to do it, but not do it well. That being said, nobody wants to drop a few grand on something that is a complete and total gamble in reality. No matter how good you think your idea is, your not going to know until it's finished and on the market.

What would I be looking at "roughly" for a text based simulation game? It would draw names from a database, compile statistics, etc.. I know that's really vague, but it won't be graphic intensive at all. I wanted to use this game as an example, as it would be the simplest one on my list to do.