Looking for a tutor

Offer / request Android-related Jobs.
Search for a team or team-members.

Looking for a tutor

Postby Edxactly » Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:33 pm

I'm looking to write a small android app. I've been a developer for many years but in older languages.
I'm just looking for someone to guide me along in the design, general understanding, and be someone to bounce question off of.

I'm willing to compensate you for you time. If interested please include what compensation you would require.

-Thanks
Ed
Edxactly
Freshman
Freshman

Re: Looking for a tutor

Postby Schermvlieger » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:03 am

Hi Ed,

I know everybody has their own preferred and optimal way of learning things, and this may not be for you; but did you consider doing the tutorials on the Android Developers' website?

http://developer.android.com/resources/ ... world.html

It worked for me; I used this in conjunction with some on-line java introduction resource like the following:

http://www.javabeginner.com/

With previous programming experience - like I had as well - you'll probably fly through most of this material with supersonic speed :-)
Schermvlieger
Senior Developer
Senior Developer

Postby blundell » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:51 am

Plus ask us any questions you like, if I catch your thread and know the answer or can point you at the answer I will reply :-)
blundell
Master Developer
Master Developer

Postby creativensimple » Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:30 am

i too agree with the above posts..as you already have experience developing for other languages, developing for android wont be much difficult..if you do want to learn from basics then you can refer some good books like Pofessional android 2 --Wrox publication OR Beginning Android 2 --Apress publication..Hope this helps
creativensimple
Once Poster
Once Poster

Postby Edxactly » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:12 pm

Thanks for the advice.

I've set up eclipse IDE, done hello world, etc...