Slew of Java problems

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Slew of Java problems

Postby phix » Thu May 13, 2010 12:45 am

I wasn't sure where to put this as it's not necessarily a specific problem more than a Java/Path/JRE issue that's bubbling down to development.

I've been encountering problems with developing Android apps for about 2 months. I think it started when I upgraded my JRE, but I don't know for sure.

The first problem I ran into was Eclipse stopped working. It gives the error screen I've attached. Some people had success editing the config file, taking out or changing values, but these didn't work for me. It seems like Eclipse doesn't know that I have the correct JRE installed (by the requiredVersion in the message box) but I do. I've tried adding/removing Java a few times now. Then, Photoshop stopped correctly saving my images, complaining of a ".jpg (or whatever ext I'm trying to use) already exists..." error. I don't know why the two would be related, but some searching for that brings back a corrupt/conflicting registry possibility.

So I decided to use NetBeans and develop in there. I like Eclipse better, but whatever works, right? NetBeans worked for a while, but upon running apps in the emulator, the Log window now outputs nothing, or a device not found error.

I tried going to add/remove and taking out the last installed version (Update 18), but the .msi cannot be found, and upon searching my system the .msi doesn't exist anywhere.

So my question is, how do I completely purge ALL references to Java anything and start fresh? I've been struggling trying to find solutions, none of which work. I'm this close to reinstalling windows, but I really... really... don't want to go through that hassle again considering I have RAIDs and a slew of other things I need to make sure work correctly.

Any ideas?
Attachments
error.jpg
error.jpg (98.32 KiB) Viewed 241 times
phix
Master Developer