Rapid Android Development with AML

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Rapid Android Development with AML

Postby jrowberg » Sun Jul 11, 2010 7:36 pm

Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new to Android development, and brand new to this board, but it looks like a great resource. I've already landed on a few threads while searching for answers during the last few days of learning and experimentation.

I'm looking for feedback on something I've begun to create though, specifically for my needs but definitely with potential for the general Android development community. It's a simple markup language that can designate layout and behavior for apps in a way that is very easy to write but directly uses the native UI. It's a set of template layout files (in /res/layout) and classes (in /src) that you include in your project to enable this functionality. The implementation code you have to write to use it is very, very simple.

I want to be able to have an app that is structurally built using native code, but where the content, layout, and behavior are controlled by an external source (a web service in my case). That way, the app behavior will change automatically as the web service is updated to include new features. I have seen tools like Rhomobile and Appcelerator, and while they are great for certain needs, they don't do what I'm looking for.

I've called the code library that I'm working on "AML", for App Markup Language. It's simple, structured XML that the code parses and dynamically builds layouts and views from. It's definitely still in its infancy; there are no specifications or documentation yet, and it is still missing a lot of important features (specifically, dealing with events and processing inputted data). But hey, for being only four days old, I'm really pleased with how it's come out so far.

For a few more details and some example code and screenshots, go here: