Project Ideas ?

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Project Ideas ?

Postby shefo » Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:32 am

hi all,
I am new at android and mobile development , I have been admiring it for fairly long time but neither had the chance or the guts to get going in it.

now finally a chance in our school to take it as an excuse to start learning android development.

In our Software Engineering course, the teacher asked us to make a project on any platform using any language and any idea to apply the concepts of software engineering, like writing an SRS document , and using UML and OO design in our project.

Me and my team decided to make it a mobile app for many reasons, most important is that no one will decide to make it. So it's a unique chance to get bonus :D

The problem we had is that no one of us has made any mobile application before , so we are not familiar with the kind of apps suitable for mobiles and also can apply SW engineering concepts.

So far we came up with:
1- scientific calculator (fairly straight implementation with no design, classes, uml ....etc )
2- curve sketcher (very naive implementation also)
3- Circuit analyzer (class resistance , class capacitor, class coil.... !! )
4- State space model solver (alot of algorithms and maths goes in there)
5- float chart creator (any ideas how to get drawings going ? )

can you please tell me what do you prefer that can fairly satisfy the SW engineering POV and also be usable on an andorid phone ?
and please, please , tell me your other ideas
shefo
Freshman
Freshman

Re: Project Ideas ?

Postby jp_ksj » Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:54 am

Hi Guys,

I think in your list 1 and 5 are already in-build functionality in Android. U cant do better that that. 2 and 4 are mostly involved maths concepts.

So my opinion is u can go 3 is a better one. This also will help to future students.

Thanks,
JP
jp_ksj
Junior Developer
Junior Developer