Localization and internationalization

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Localization and internationalization

Postby ashoka » Mon May 12, 2008 6:29 am

Hi Plus-Minus

Is it possible to use multi-language in android.i have read lacalization in android apis and google gadgets api.Is it possible to use those xml files in google gadgets in android??willl it support?if yes where can i use that xml,whether in layout,values or drawable,anyone reply pls.

Regards,
Ashok....
ashoka
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:30 am

Top

Postby nisha » Tue May 20, 2008 11:53 am

Hi Ashok,

Are you able to use multiple languages?

regards,
nisha
nisha
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:52 am

Postby ashoka » Tue May 20, 2008 12:05 pm

Hi nisha
Im using sdk m5-rc15..Its the latest version of sdk.In this version they are mentioned,Localization and internationalization is not possible.In the next version of sdk its possible.I tried in java I18N.When i used same APIs in android its not supporting.

Regards,
Ashok
ashoka
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:30 am

Postby nisha » Tue May 20, 2008 12:24 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your fast reply.. Hey even i am using MD5 version... As far as i know,its the latest version.. New version is released?... In documentation its given that it can be done... see this link

http://code.google.com/android/devel/re ... -i18n.html

Have you tried it?Waiting for your reply....

regards and thanks,
nisha
nisha
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:52 am

Postby ashoka » Tue May 20, 2008 12:38 pm

Hi nisha..
Its possible only in the next version.I tried those what u sent.even i tried to do some coding.But its not supporting.Please read at the bottom of that page.Here is a link
http://code.google.com/android/devel/re ... .html#i18n

If u find any other way to do L10N and I18N like doing in java please let me know nisha

Thanks,
Ashok..
ashoka
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:30 am

Postby nisha » Tue May 20, 2008 12:45 pm

Hi,

ok... I dint go through the whole document.. If its like that then, we have to wait for the next version to release.. :( .. If you get something related to this please let me know...

thanks and regards,
nisha
nisha
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:52 am

Top

Postby ashoka » Tue May 20, 2008 12:50 pm

Ya sure.likewise u too.

Thanks n Regards,
Ashok..
ashoka
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:30 am

Top

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests