I Have Some Very General Questions

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

I Have Some Very General Questions

Postby Davidthefat » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:38 am

I am a 16 year old Sophomore in highschool. I want to know if there is an age limit to publish apps on the Android Store. I have been using C++ since I was 12... Yes very very asian, and Im in AP Comp Sci class so Im learning Java (Not much different from C++) I was thinking of getting an Android phone after my contract ends for Verizon. I think this will be a great practice and something good to write for college apps. Well from 1-10, how hard is it to dev for the Android and how much different it is from the PC (Im assuming a lot of attention on memory management)

edit: What I want to get out of the Android:
-experience
-Something for college apps
-A lil bit of $$$ (AT LEAST to even out that $25 publishing fee)
-Just a good excuse to get such a cool phone
Davidthefat
Freshman
Freshman

Postby Draffodx » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:04 pm

Programming for the platform is in a general sense easy enough but in a deeper sense a lot of hard work, what I mean is its easy to make applications for it that are just basic applications that will run and do something. It gets kind of annoying and hard work when you want to create something new or different.

The lifecycle is what you need to get your head around, this helps with memory and resource management.
Draffodx
Master Developer
Master Developer

Postby ameetnsharma » Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:28 pm

I say go for it. I think you're definitely capable of developing for the Android. You have plenty of programming experience...

I think it's great experience. And there's a lot of potential in the Android Market.

There will of course be stumbling blocks etc... but that's there for everyone regardless... It's just a matter of doing it...