How do you post code in those neat little boxes w/ borders?

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

How do you post code in those neat little boxes w/ borders?

Postby gymshoe » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:29 am

Some posts have code displayed in their own little box with a border which nicely separates it from the rest of the post.

How do you guys do that? :?

thanks,
Jim
gymshoe
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:07 am

Top

Postby rmanromga » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 am

Thank God there is at least one person who asked how to do it. I try to help people a lot, but when people submit their code without the java formatting it is just so painful to read and more difficult to help them... thanks for asking, and here is how to do it.

When you are creating a message on the forum, there is a button on the toolbar that says .java[i] . If you want to format your java code, just paste your java code in your post, then select the code (the region that has the code then click on that button. What you will see happen is that the region you selected will be enclosed with tags that look like this [java ] your code [/jav a]. Thats it et Voila! like magic your code will be nicely formated and people like me (an others) will be able to better help you because they will be able to better read your code.
rmanromga
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Baltimore, MD USA

Postby rmanromga » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:42 am

Mods can we have this topic as a sticky ?

--Cheers
--D
rmanromga
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Baltimore, MD USA

Postby gymshoe » Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:54 am

Thanks!
gymshoe
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:07 am

Top

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest