Develop android apps for AT&T mobile phone?

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Develop android apps for AT&T mobile phone?

Postby spyfromcairo » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:02 pm

Hey guys, I am new to the Android OS and I want to start developing apps for Android phones. Unfortunately, I am in a long contract with AT&T and I am aware that AT&T blocks the installation of 3rd party apps. So I am wondering if I start developing android apps, I will never be able to deploy my program on my android phone ?? Are there any workarounds where I can unlock the phone ?

Any help is appreciated. Especially if you have successfully deployed your own app on an AT&T android device.
spyfromcairo
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 2:43 pm
Location: North Carolina

Top

Re: Develop android apps for AT&T mobile phone?

Postby blundell » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:28 am

I don't know what your talking about, how can your provider block what you install on your device? Use a cable and install from your PC job done?
User avatar
blundell
Master Developer
Master Developer
 
Posts: 1610
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: Develop android apps for AT&T mobile phone?

Postby jonbonazza » Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:10 pm

Blundell, AT&T prevents side-loading apps. With this said, it still must be possible to develop for it somehow... If not, then you have 3 options:

1) buy a dev phone

2) root and install a custom ROM

3) change providers. XD
jonbonazza
Master Developer
Master Developer
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:58 pm
Location: WV USA

Re: Develop android apps for AT&T mobile phone?

Postby blundell » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:38 pm

How nasty are AT&T!

Yeah as jon says - root your phone.

Hmm so they must of removed the option to "install unsigned apps", I wonder if you wrote an app that call's this function directly ( like the dev widgets on the market ) you could sneak it on. AT&T can't be that stupid / simple?

I wonder how they do it
User avatar
blundell
Master Developer
Master Developer
 
Posts: 1610
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: Develop android apps for AT&T mobile phone?

Postby jonbonazza » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:39 pm

I'm honestly not sure how they do it, as I refuse to use the evil that is AT&T (They also recently got rid of their unlimited data plans!! D:).

At any rate, I am not sure whether or not it is possible to do it programmatically or not... Though I suppose it is worth looking into... I would think, however, that if it was possible, it would have been thought of/developed already... lol
jonbonazza
Master Developer
Master Developer
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:58 pm
Location: WV USA

Top

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 4 guests