Curious, what do you use to develop in?

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Curious, what do you use to develop in?

Postby rd42 » Fri Apr 09, 2010 3:16 pm

What do you use to develop in? Eclipse or ...
User avatar
rd42
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:12 pm

Top

Postby giro » Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:15 pm

I use Eclipse on a Mac Book Pro, with a nexus one usb thethered for testing.

Giro.
giro
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:26 pm

Postby MichaelEGR » Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:14 am

IntelliJ Idea using Ant scripts and command line tools (ddms/debugger). Idea 9 has Android integration, but I refuse to rely on any custom build tools partly because I'll be releasing some of my work soon including project files for various environments.
Founder & Principal Architect; EGR Software LLC
http://www.typhonrt.org
http://www.egrsoftware.com
User avatar
MichaelEGR
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:30 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Postby freewheelnat » Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:28 pm

I used to use Eclipse on a PC running Windows XP, I now use Eclipse on the same PC running Ubuntu. Eclipse was quite difficult to set up properly on Ubuntu but now that I've done it, it runs much faster than it did on Windows XP :)

At the moment, I rely on the Android emulator to test my apps but I plan to get myself a GA phone later in the year.

I use Eclipse as my IDE of choice for all my programming, except Dev C++ for C++ (but I do very little C++ development anyway).
freewheelnat
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:48 am
Location: London

Postby hardcoras » Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:29 pm

I use IntelliJ Idea 9, but it's not free to use with android. Eclipse is also a good choice though. It's more a preference to what you are used to.
hardcoras
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:31 pm
Location: Lithunia

Postby dibba » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:28 am

I am a beginner, and only know how to do even the simplest of programming in Eclipse.
dibba
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:00 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Top

Postby ak75 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:24 pm

i use eclipse on a notebook running windows vista.
works perfect! 8)
User avatar
ak75
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:14 pm
Location: Munich

Postby bakapenguin » Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:34 am

I use Eclipse on both my MacBook Pro and Windows 7 PC. I test using an AVD.
bakapenguin
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:18 am

Postby dys » Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:15 pm

I use Eclipse but, for some of my applications whose code I want to optimize and strip, I do the making (from the resources packaging to the signature and zip alignement) outside of Eclipse : you have to realize that Eclipse is a good tool but that you could do all using notepad and the command line tools provided by Google (of course that would certainly cost you more time).
dys
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:53 pm

Top

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest