Can Android boot into a single application on boot?

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Can Android boot into a single application on boot?

Postby RoamingGnome » Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:42 am

How easy is it to make an application that's just a wrapper around the browser?

Can the Android OS boot directly into that application so that only a certain
application launches after boot.

I'm building a client some custom software and I'd prefer to use one of those Archos 5 MIDs than a Linux netbook.
RoamingGnome
Once Poster
Once Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:39 am
Location: Portland

Top

not easy but not hard

Postby shareme » Sun Nov 01, 2009 10:55 am

It is not exactly easy as you have ot account for the ap tha talready booted as far as heap etc, namely the home app..

But i tis not hard either..
Fred Grott
Android Guru
[url=http:/mobilebytes.wordpress.com]http:/mobilebytes.wordpress.com[/url]
shareme
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:54 pm
Location: SE ChicagoLand

Postby I_Artist » Sun Nov 01, 2009 4:00 pm

Actually Shareme, I was going to say something in that line...

Just replace the home app. There are other home app replacements out there: aHome, better home, sweet home, etc... Just see how they did it and then you have control.

From what I understand, the slider that contains your application icons is called the Launcher, and is considered another app. So you will have to control that also.

Cheers.
The I_Artist

follow me on Twitter: @I_Artist
follow Android Development on Twitter: #androiddev

Show the world that you are an #androiddev, wear the badge http://www.twibbon.com/join/androiddev
User avatar
I_Artist
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:49 am
Location: St-Eustache, Quebec

Top

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests